The following appeared in a memo from the president of Bower Builders, a company that constructs new homes.

"A nationwide survey reveals that the two most-desired home features are a large family room and a large, well-appointed kitchen. A number of homes in our area built by our competitor Domus Construction have such features and have sold much faster and at significantly higher prices than the national average. To boost sales and profits, we should increase the size of the family rooms and kitchens in all the homes we build and should make state-of-the-art kitchens a standard feature. Moreover, our larger family rooms and kitchens can come at the expense of the dining room, since many of our recent buyers say they do not need a separate dining room for family meals."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

________________________________________

The president of Bower Builders made undue assumptions about increasing the sales of his construction company based on the information taken from their competitor. However, before proceeding with these plans, the following three fallacies must be cleared.

A general consideration is, not everyone has the same need in case of buying houses. The argument assumes that the recent trend of high sales of houses with large bedrooms and kitchens might be an effective solution for increasing sales of the mentioned company. But neither everyone doesn’t have the same family size nor all of them have the same budget to buy large houses. For instance, a small family with a low budget may want small bedrooms and minimal kitchens. Again, some big families may find the need to have a dining room to enjoy meals together. So altering the size of all the homes might fulfill the need of a particular portion of the customer but a larger portion of them might be discouraged. As a result, sales may not increase as expected.

The next argument is, the president assumes taking all the measures like their opponents might help them boost the profits but he should also take his attention to the other facts too. Such as, the customers might be attracted to the building designs or quality assured by the competitor companies. Bowler Builders might lack in quality assurance in their structures . Thus before investigating fundamental problems, if the president rushes to the conclusion then sales might not change that much.

Another important point is, the president is making a parochial consideration about the future steps of the company because he is taking information of only a particular area and applying it to a broad space. For example, the people in that area where the other companies sold their houses, can be economically different from people in other areas. Again, only a few customer opinion have been taken about the dining room concept. Such a small survey doesn’t reflect the average opinion. As an example, financially much powerful people might find a dining room as a necessity .So taking actions based on an incomplete survey may not be fruitful in a larger extent.

The argument arises some suppositions which must be taken care of before stepping ahead with this plan. If these are not solved , the whole plan might not hold water and Bowler builders might face loss in their business.