the following appeared in a memo from the owner of a chain of cheese stores located throughout the United States.

"For many years all the stores in our chain have stocked a wide variety of both domestic and imported cheeses. Last year, however, all of the five best-selling cheeses at our newest store were domestic cheddar cheeses from Wisconsin. Furthermore, a recent survey by Cheeses of the World magazine indicates an increasing preference for domestic cheeses among its subscribers. Since our company can reduce expenses by limiting inventory, the best way to improve profits in all of our stores is to discontinue stocking many of our varieties of imported cheese and concentrate primarily on domestic cheeses."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In this memoranda, the owner of cheese stores assumes that limiting the stocks to only best selling goods might bring them more profits. He took this idea by analyzing recent sales pattern and the survey done by a reputed magazine. However, before executing these changes in the business, the owner has to answer the three following questions.

Firstly, the owner is planning to discontinue the stock of existing varieties of cheese because of the rising sales of domestic cheese. But taking this decision, he might make the business limited to only one portion of the customers. Demands of varieties in cheese had always been observed. Such as different pizzas, kinds of pastas and other dishes require different kinds of cheese. Only cheddar cheese isn’t used all the time. So confining the stock only to domestic cheddar cheese, the store might lose its other portion of customers who actually need varieties.

Secondly, the owner might be giving emphasis on the survey done by the World magazine. However the survey has been only done with its subscribers where the bigger portion of people might not be present. For example, restaurants have the demand of varieties of cheeses in their dishes. So it should be kept in mind too as a business grows by attracting different sorts of buyers. Thus the owner might have to think again before relying completely on a minimal survey.

Lastly, the author assumes that limiting inventory might reduce further cost which might improve profits. But inventory is an essential part of a business and discontinuing it might hamper its profit even more. Without performing proper inventory the owner may not have a clear idea of his stock and sold products and he might not be able to calculate revenues properly. For example, if 150 quantities are in stock and 50 quantities are sold in a day then they will have 100 quantities left and thus they might have to think about restocking items but without regular inventory item restocking might become inscrutable.

These mentioned facts make the whole argument highly suspect. If either of them has merit then the conclusion drawn by the owner might not hold water. So the owner might have to think again before executing these future plans for his business otherwise he might face unfortunate loss rather than profits.