Salicylates are members of the same chemical family as aspirin, a medicine used to treat headaches. Although many foods are naturally rich in salicylates, for the past several decades, food-processing companies have also been adding salicylates to foods as preservatives. This rise in the commercial use of salicylates has been found to correlate with a steady decline in the average number of headaches reported by participants in our twenty-year study. Recently, food-processing companies have found that salicylates can also be used as flavor additives for foods. With this new use for salicylates, we can expect a continued steady decline in the number of headaches suffered by the average citizen of Mentia."

The whole passage provides such a positive vibe as if this continued use of salicylates in our daily food chain is bringing so much wellbeing in our life. No mention of the negative sides of using preservatives in the first place makes these information highly misleading as well as it is spreading a wrong message to the mass people. Under the veneer of treating headache , the author is trying to normalize the usage of salicylates in food chain which may be deleterious to our health.

Any kind of use of chemical preservatives is harmful and we can’t deny the fact that the more we are being commercially developed, the more we are leaning to these things. Many recent studies have shown the presence of carcinogens in our food chain and prolonged use of harmful food preservatives is one of the reasons of this problem. It is undeniable that we still have to use food preservatives but there are many options in them which don’t cause great harm to health. Salicylate which is a drug component for the treatment of headache should’t be taken so often. It will certainly create adverse effects which will be impossible to heal but here we are telling about taking them in each time with our meal.

The author states the positive sides of using salicylates as preservative. Is the author advocating the avaricious businessmen who are willing to do everything for profit? Even harming others’ life? As aspirin has widespread use, it is cheap and so salicylates are cheap, businessmen want to use this more often as a cheap alternative to good preservatives. The author is bragging about decreased headache patients but there is no mention of many more negatives effects we will be facing due to salicylates. This is simply an one sided writing which is actually questionable if it is authentic. This is nothing more than a support to the destruction of human life. Flavor additive is a new step willing to be taken mentioned in the above passage. It is nothing but a commercial move. Artificial flavors are the vital reasons for kidney. liver complexities. This new step is paving the way of health destruction of the citizens of Mentia.

The participation of people in the survey is also questionable. For one time if we consider the decrease of headache patients is true but what about the people who don’t have this problem? They are also taking salicylates. You don’t have a disease and still you are taking medicines. It is a horrible idea to support. The citizens of Mentia may be better than before because of some other reasons but we can’t say it is because of salicylates.

Based on misleading information the author is trying to create a positive impression towards salicylate preservatives and create a favorable market for new flavor additives. This is a biased writing with false information and we demand proper investigation against these kind of health destructing moves taken by the businessmen of Mentia so that the citizens remain safe in future.