The following appeared in a memo from a vice president of a large, highly diversified company.

"Ten years ago our company had two new office buildings constructed as regional headquarters for two regions. The buildings were erected by different construction companies — Alpha and Zeta. Although the two buildings had identical floor plans, the building constructed by Zeta cost 30 percent more to build. However, that building's expenses for maintenance last year were only half those of Alpha's. Furthermore, the energy consumption of the Zeta building has been lower than that of the Alpha building every year since its construction. Such data indicate that we should use Zeta rather than Alpha for our contemplated new building project, even though Alpha's bid promises lower construction costs."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the memo if vice president of the large, highly diversified company it is mentioned that even though the construction price of Alpha company is lower than that of the Zeta company they should use Zeta company for their completed new building project. This decision is based on the fact that the expenses for maintenance for last year by the building made by Zeta is lower than that of Alpha. Similarly the energy consumption cost is also lower in case of building built by Alpha, before making this decision to award contract it is necessary to evaluate further evidences which are as follows.

The buildings are built in two different regions, therefore it is possible that there is a difference in cost of expenses in these two different regions. For example, it is possible that the cost of maintenance for building constructed by Alpha is more because the cost of expenses such as manpower cost for maintaining the building, cost of tools or expenses for troubleshooting particular issue is more in this region is more than the other region. If this possibility is true then comparing such maintenance expenses will be similar to comparing apples with oranges and hence basing conclusion on such difference in maintenance cost will not be right.

Secondly, the cost of maintenance considered is for the last one year. There is a possibility that due to some problem or increase in the staff in that particular office this cost might have gone high. In order to compare the expenses for both the offices it is necessary to considered the average cost of the number of years for which it is operational because there are high chances that the expenses may go higher than usual in any particular year due to various factors and similarly it may go low due to several other factors.

One more point to consider is that there are chances that the number of employees in the two regional offices is different. Also, there is a possibility that the type of work happening is these two different offices is different. For example the employees in the office constructed by Alpha might need to work extra hours or need to do work that involves extra energy consumption than that of the employees that work in the office constructed by Zeta.

In order to make any comparison it is necessary to bring the two quantities at the same level, hence the construction cost alongwith the overall running cost, maintenance cost, energy consumption cost shall be compared to make any decision for selecting the contractor.

Considering all the above evidences it is clear that it’s not right to make any decision with the current reasoning provided in the memo. In order to make any conclusion it is necessary to have more information regarding the points mentioned above. Therefore it can not be concluded that the contract shall be awarded to Zeta by the reasoning given by the author.