The following appeared in a memo from a vice president of Quiot Manufacturing During the past year Quiot Manufacturing had 30 percent more on the job accidents than at the nearby Panoply Industries plant where the work shifts are one hour shorter than our

In a memo that appeared from the vice president of Quiot Manufacturing we can see that it mentions the fatal accidents faced by the workers of Quiot Manufacturing are 30 percent higher than those working for Panoply Industries due to their increased shift hours. After some comparative research from his end, the company's president has come to the conclusion that by reducing the shift work hours by one hour each like that of Panoply Industries would in turn reduce the peril being faced by their employees.The prompt believes increased workload is resulting in fatigue and other health problems thereby leading to accidents in workplace.However, we need to further seek evidence on this and ask few questions to validate the recommendation put forward.

First of all, is the workplace of Quiot Manufacturing and Panoply Industries roughly comparable? In other words, is the company providing a proper secured workplace for its employees who are spending three fourth's of their time in a day in the firm. It is possible that Quiot Manufacturing comparatively less regulations and work security measures in place for its workers, which is eventually making their work harder and more prone to accidents and injuries. Every company is expected to take appropriate measure and safety measures in place as a primary necessity for its workers before even establishing itself as a problem solver and as a viable company. There is also a possibility that Panoply Industries values the safety of its employees as its highest priority and is abiding by all the rules to ensure their safety.

Secondly, the question arises about the amount of physical pressure that a person might endure when working under a specific shift. Are the workers in unpredictable shifts? There is a high chance that the work being burdened on the workers of Quiot Manufacturing Firm is comparatively high and intolerable leading to eventual fatigue and sleep disorders. The shift timings might be highly unlikely and changing everyday due to which their biological cycle might be disrupted, and eventually make them inefficient and tired. This takes a toll on the work being done and increases the chances of them not focusing on their work eventually leading to injuries and problems within the firm. However, if there is a possibility that Panoply follows regulated shifts and proper work plans for its employees without burdening them with extra work, then there is a high chance that this recommendation put forward by the company's president is flawed.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to its reliance on a single fact that has been less thoroughly researched. There are several unwarranted assumptions associated with it, that by simply reducing the duration of work would impact an employee's safety rather than taking into account other reasons like workspace security, work quality and stress free work, regulated shifts for employees and many other factors.If the author is able to answer these two questions and offer more evidence(perhaps in a systematic research study), then it will be possible to fully evaluate the viability of proposed recommendation for reducing the work hours in shifts to lower the accidents being faced in the company.