The following appeared in a memo from a vice president of Quit Manufacturing.

"During the past year, Quit Manufacturing had 30 percent more on-the-job accidents than at the nearby Panoply Industries plant, where the work shifts are one hour shorter than ours. Experts say that significant contributing factors in many on-the-job accidents are fatigue and sleep deprivation among workers.

Therefore, to reduce the number of on-the-job accidents at Quit and thereby increase productivity, we should shorten each of our three work shifts by one hour so that employees will get adequate amounts of sleep."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument above makes a case for reducing the length of their work shifts in order to allow employees to get adequate amounts of sleep. In turn, the company hopes that adequate levels of sleep will lead to fewer on-the-job accidents. While seemingly well-intended and even potentially beneficial, the argument is weakened by the fact that it relies on unsubstantiated assumptions.

Firstly, the argument begins by comparing the number of accidents at Quiot Manufacturing to the nearby Panoply Industries plant, with Quiot Manufacturing having reported 30% more accidents than Panoply. In doing this, the argument assumes that all on-the-job accidents were reported at Panoply Industries. While it is possible that all accidents were reported, it is also possible that either company had false reports of the number of on-the-job accidents. Additionally, different companies may have different thresholds for reporting an accident, which may cause inaccurate numbers. Since the argument does not provide evidence backing up these statistics, it cannot accurately assume that these statistics are correct. Therefore, this invalidates the argument that fewer accidents occur at Panoply Industries due to shorter shifts.

If, however, these statistics were correct and Quiot Manufacturing indeed does suffer from 30% more on-the-job accidents, the argument still falsely assumes that sleep is the only factor causing this discrepancy. While fatigue and sleep deprivation may be a contributing factor towards accidents, there can certainly be a number of other contributing factors, such as work environment and safety protocols. If one of these other factors is the root cause of the accidents at Quiot Manufacturing, then decreasing shifts to allow for more sleep will provide the company and its employees no benefit. Without evidence that accidents are solely caused by fatigue and sleep deprivation, this assumption weakens the argument presented above.

Finally, even if sleep deprivation was the sole contributor to on-the-job accidents at Quiot Manufacturing, the argument incorrectly assumes that employees will use the extra hour that they have off of work to sleep. The argument does not present any way to guarantee that employees will sleep more if they work less. Once employees are off of work, they are presumably free to spend their time as they please. While some employees may use this time to sleep, others may use this time for personal or family activities. As the argument does not guarantee that employees will actually get more sleep if this policy goes into place, the argument is weakened.

Overall, this argument does not provide sufficient evidence to make it convincing. It relies on several unwarranted assumptions that weaken the argument. Before the company puts this policy into place, they should gather substantial and indisputable evidence about the root cause of the accidents at Quiot Manufacturing.