In any field of inquiry, the beginner is more likely than the expert to make important contributions.

We all know what it feels like to be a beginner at something. Starting something new, whether it be a job, a hobby, or a relationship, is filled with nerves and doubt. You may ask yourself - will I ever be good at this? Is this right for me? With due time, most of us have likely come to experience that these initial fears die down as we gain experience. With experience comes knowledge. This knowledge allows us to succeed and contribute to our area of interest. However, this does not necessarily corroborate the idea that only experts can make valuable contributions to a field. While beginners may lack experience, they bring a curiosity and freshness to the table that cannot be duplicated by an expert. In any field, a beginner possesses qualities that experts do not, making the beginner a more likely candidate to make valuable contributions.

Think back to your first day at your most recent job. This day, your brain was likely filled to the brim with questions. In any field of inquiry, this is how a beginner’s mind will function. They will be inclined to ask about everything - about how things work, when things happen, and why you are doing things. This curiosity is something that can often be lost after being in a field for long periods of time. For example, let us consider employees in an application design company. The expert employee has been working there for 15 years, and has created several successful apps. The company’s new employee just started a few weeks ago, and is fresh out of college. Although the new employee doesn’t have a plethora of experience, like the expert, they have a great new idea of how to improve the company’s most recent app. The expert employee, having spent so many years creating similar apps, got so lost in the mundane that they failed to see this design improvement opportunity. This same scenario can happen in all types of fields. When you are exposed to a topic everyday, it can become mundane, and it can be hard to see areas for improvement. On the other hand, having a fresh set of curious eyes on a project can inspire new improvements.

Additionally, beginners may come into a field with a new skill set that is not possessed by current experts. Although experts may be extraordinarily knowledgable, it can be difficult to keep up with all current information and discoveries outside of that expert’s particular field. For instance, a professor who is researching a new exercise technique may be so engrossed in their work, that they fail to look into a new technique that is being introduced by students. Although the new technique has not yet been proven, it shows extraordinary potential. Once these students gain access to the same lab that the professor has access to, they prove that their technique is immensely effective. Since these students were open and available to learn new ideas, they were able to bring a different set of skills and ideas to the lab. Experts are much more likely to become engrossed in their work and stop learning, while beginners are always open to learning new skills that allow them to create innovative ideas within their field.

Some may argue that the knowledge experts possess is invaluable. This is often true - experts are necessary for teaching new students in nearly every field. They possess great knowledge that is important to their respective fields. However, an important consideration is that all experts were once beginners. Beginners will eventually gain the knowledge that they need to become an expert, but they also are able to spark new ideas with their curiosity, which is something that experts often lack. Without the contributions of newcomers, we may fall trap to becoming stuck in our ways,

Overall, both experts and beginners can provide value to any field that they belong to. It could even be argued that the collaboration between beginners and experts could provide the most valuable contributions. However, without the contributions of beginners, in particular, we would not be as likely to make significant and insightful contributions to respective fields.