The vice president of human resources at Climpson Industries sent the following recommendation to the company's president.

"In an effort to improve our employees' productivity, we should implement electronic monitoring of employees' Internet use from their workstations.

Employees who use the Internet from their workstations need to be identified and punished if we are to reduce the number of work hours spent on personal or recreational activities, such as shopping or playing games. By installing software to detect employees' Internet use on company computers, we can prevent employees from wasting time, foster a better work ethic at Climpson, and improve our overall profits."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument above presents an idea that initially may appear very logical. It argues that by detecting and punishing employees for using the internet on company computers, the number of work hours used for personal activities by employees will decrease. As a result of this change, the argument concludes that employees will no longer waste time, and work ethic and profits for the company will be improved. However, this argument makes several rash assumptions that make this argument illogical.

Firstly, the argument states that all employees who use the internet at their workstations should be punished in order to reduce work hours spent on personal activities, and therefore assumes that all usage of the internet at work must be spent on personal activities. However, this ignores all other uses of the internet that could potentially be beneficial for employees at work. The internet could be used by employees in a variety of ways, including to fact check, advertise for the company, or get contact information for business partners. This type of internet usage could bring potential benefits to the company, which contradicts the argument's conclusion that less internet usage would lead to increased work ethic and profits.

Additionally, the argument naively assumes that by having their employees spend less time on personal activities, the company's profits will increase. While this may initially seem logical, it is not necessarily practical in use. Many people benefit from having small, personal breaks that help them to clear their mind and focus better. By having small breaks, this could allow employees to potentially become more productive during the times that they are dedicating to work purposes. In turn, this could lead to better profits for the company. Additionally, allowing employees the freedom to use the internet for some personal use could help employees to feel more comfortable and content in their positions. Having strict rules could lead to the unintended consequence of unhappy employees, which could reduce motivation and work ethic throughout the office. Once again, this directly contradicts the argument that stricter enforcement of the internet would lead to increased work ethic and profits.

Finally, the entire premise of this argument rests on the fact that the software being used to monitor internet usage is accurate and reliable. If these assumptions are not true, which the argument provides no clear evidence that they are, then employees could be wrongly punished for things that they may not have done. Imposing incorrect accusations on employees could worsen the working environment in the office, and therefore decrease productivity, work ethic, and profits.

Overall, while the argument presented above may seem partially logical, it has far too many gaps and assumptions to be undeniably persuasive. The argument fails to consider how this new policy will affect its employees in practical use, and fails to consider how the internet may be potentially bringing benefits to the company. Before the company implements this policy at work, they should create a more sound argument that is evidence-based in order to be more persuasive in convincing their employees of how this policy will benefit them and the company.