Educators should teach facts only after their students have studied the ideas, trends, and concepts that help explain those facts.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

In the field of education, the best way to teach students is highly debated. Each student can present unique learning styles. A great educator will attempt to accommodate each student to the best of their abilities. The claim that educators should teach facts only after students understand the ideas and concepts behind those facts may initially seem too universal to benefit all students. However, understanding the concepts behind facts is vital for student understanding of new material. Without having a true, conceptual understanding of a topic, facts can be easily forgotten or misinterpreted.

A popular demonstration of this claim can found in a typical high school or college calculus course. At first glance, a calculus formula can seem near-impossible to decipher or remember. Each formula consists of jumbles of symbols and numbers that are hard to keep track of at first. This is why most educators will choose to demonstrate a proof of a formula before having students practice with it. A proof is a mathematical explanation of how a certain formula or equation was derived. The proof offers students a conceptual explanation of new information. By gaining a better understanding of the background behind a certain equation, it helps students to remember the information more clearly. Additionally, even if they are unable to memorize a certain equation, having a conceptual understanding can help them to derive the equation themselves. In this circumstance, understanding the conceptual information before learning the equation, or “facts”, helps the students to have a more solidified understanding.

This claim can be looked at from a less traditional view of the educational field as well. When we hear the term “education”, we often think of traditional school topics such as math, science, and writing. However, we are constantly being taught by educators or mentors in all of our daily activities. For example, a young child is often taught general life advice by their parent or guardian. When a child is young, they may be unwilling to help out with chores around the house. Before teaching them how to do a certain chore, such as putting dishes in the dishwasher, it is important to explain to them the reasoning and concepts behind why this chore is important. If the dishes aren’t cleaned immediately, food will stick and they will be more difficult to clean. If dishes aren’t clean, there will be no dishes to eat on! Although this is a simple conceptual idea, and the “fact” of how to put dishes away may seem naive to adults, it is important to remember when teaching children. As one can see, the concept of teaching ideas and concepts before facts applies, even in everyday activities.

While this claim holds true in many examples, it is important to consider the idea that not every student learns in the same manner. Some students benefit from reading before listening to new information. Other students may be more of a visual learner, and may not benefit from books or lectures. Regardless, the claim that learning concepts and ideas before facts can be modified to fit nearly any learning style. If a student is an oral learner, concepts can first be taught through a pre-lecture before the lecture that addresses facts. In this way, the claim in the prompt above can hold true for a large variety of students.

When considering how best to approach educating students, most would agree that the best method is the one that brings the most benefit to students. From the examples above, it can be concluded that providing adequate explanations of information before teaching students straight facts is the most beneficial way to benefit student learning.