Claim: Governments must ensure that their major cities receive the financial

support they need in order to thrive.

Reason: It is primarily in cities that a nation's cultural traditions are preserved and generated.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree

with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

In modern society where social resources are limited and not unevenly distributed, there is a claim that the major cities are aided with sufficient financial resources from the governments because the culture there can be produced and preserved. In my opinion, it is undeniably true that culture preservation and inheritance in cities can not be separated from financial support; however, apart from the cities,there are also some other areas possessing nation’s cultural traditions that are preserved and generated. Some remote areas with a long history may also give birth to more valuable national cultures.

In the first place,urban prosperity is significant for the preservation and development of international culture.There are are many ample historic sites in the major cities such as ancient colosseum in Roman,Arch of Triumph and Notre Dame Cathedral in Paris.And the government funds can be used to improve the construction of protection facilities. Due to these facilities, major cities have the capacity to maintain large museums and libraries in order to store artifacts and books.Assumed that if the governments can provide abundant and stable financial support,the cities could thrive and civilization created by mankind can be continued.

That being said, the argument above assumes that the cities are the main birthplaces of cultural traditions, so the government would give a lot of financial support to preserve the culture in these cities.This assumption, however, could be wrong. Even though a nation's cultural traditions are preserved and generated in cities, there are also abundant culture traditions with the equal importance in some small cities and even rural areas in the countries with a long history.These precious cultures also need to be preserved and need the support of material basis.However,because the governments with limited financial resources have to have a certain degree of preference for development of the major cities in the financial budget,the culture in rural cities is generally not able to get sufficient support.

Even if certain financial support is helpful for cultural preservation, the support is not enough,in the meantime adequate means for preservation are also essential. Relevant experts need to formulate the right plan for cultural protection and be supported financially the restoration, repair or renovation of ancient buildings or cultural relics by governments. For example,the funds can help to search for historical relics, but they may still be damaged if they are unearthed without timely and effective protection measures.Notre Dame Cathedral has been spending a lot of money on maintenance, but its history and culture were destroyed by fires because of potential circuit problems.

To summarize,although how to preserve and inherit the culture still needs to be discussed, it is not wise to simply put money into the big cities to achieve cultural preservation and inheritance. In fact, the cultures is distributed in different areas and diverse in forms, which must be analyzed according to the situation of different countries. Only by adopting the correct means and reasonable allocation of funds can the culture protection be fully realized.