The following appeared in a memo at XYZ company."When XYZ lays off employees, it pays Delany Personnel Firm to offer those employees assistance in creating résumés and developing interviewing skills, if they so desire. Laid-off employees have benefited

In the stated argument, the author compared a work of two companies in terms of giving support to laid-off employees. Suggested two companies, Delany Personnel Firm and Walsh Personnel firm, are assisting the laid-off employees to create resumes and developing interview skills. The author describes the work of Delany as better than that of Walsh and gives an opinion to continue with the Delany as compared to less expensive form Walsh.

The Author mentions here that the performance of Delany, which is currently working with the company XYZ, is satisfactory. The author described the efficiency of Delany in terms of quick performance only. Despite having better performance, it also should be economical. There is a possibility that employees had personally paid to the company to enhance their profile.

The Author compared both the forms economically and suggested to consider Walsh to gain economic profit before claiming that though economical, it is not having better performance. The Author has given supporting reasons by stating that earlier performance of Walsh was not satisfactory and only half of the laid-off workers succeded. In terms of superiority and staff size also, Delany is better than Walsh. In terms of work performance, Walsh was behind Delany and took nine months time to get laid off employees job as compared to six months time taken by Delany.

Thus, despite being economical, it is not viable to choose Walsh only because of financial reason. They must consider performance as a factor in hiring a firm. The Authors reasons are reasonable and I personally agree with him/her.