The following appeared as a memorandum from the Human Resources director at Dexter Gorman Instruments, a company that manufactures saxophones.

"On this year's survey about work habits, our employees tended to strongly agree with the idea that if they took less time to complete their assigned work, the quality of their work would suffer. However, we recently conducted an internal study that proves this idea wrong. Managers across several divisions identified an overtime group: the employees who worked an average of 48 or more hours per week over the past year instead of the expected 40 hours per week. We then looked at the number of documented work errors produced by all of our employees during the past year and found that the overtime group was responsible for significantly more work errors overall than their fellow employees. On the basis of these findings, our recommendation to the company president is to require employees at Dexter Gorman Instruments to complete their work during the regular 40-hour work week and allow overtime only for urgent circumstances."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the message from the human resource department director at Dexter Gorman instruments, the author concludes that work error is produced by those who do overtime work. However, the author supports the argument with the three assumptions, that if not substantiated, dramatically weaken the persuasiveness of the argument.

First of all the writer presumes, without evidence, Was the internal study conducted scientifically? There may be a day or two in a week where the employee has worked for fewer hours than the usual time and overworked on the next day to overcome the loss. At the time of the study, there were no criteria to ask them whether the overwork was due to the company or on their own. Perhaps, the study organizer must consider a few points like checking the daily duration of working, the productivity given by them. It is also possible that a study was conducted to check the work and didn't notice that the employee did their work when they stayed for overtime or they had a party or played a game. If an employee has played a game for three days a week and asks and starts working for the rest of four days then there would be a workload on their head which will push them to work even if they are tired and lead them in making an error due to the tired mind. If either of these scenarios proves true the assertion of the manager significantly hampers.

Second, was the company given time-based tasks? The company may not have given the work to complete based on time. The employee may take the weekly deadline for granted and fail to complete it daily due to their laziness, or enjoyment which led them to do overtime work. Like, if the company has asked the employee to finish three files within two hours that would keep pressure on them( pressure of deadline). This would push them to work, this may not allow the employee to take lightly and the problem of error would be automatically solved by the employees. This will also make them understand that the amount of work which can be over time has to be done in a serious manner and if the study has not been done in this way then there is a possibility of the error in the study which mistakenly has been predicted as a serious issue. Perhaps if this is the case then the manager should take hourly reports of the work. These details will show the detailing and validity of the study. That would substantially increase the credibility of the argument.

Finally, what was the assurance that overtime work they did priority wasn't urgent? The employee who worked overtime and made errors may have done the work under the peer pressure of the new project and that leads them to make errors. That urgent work also creates mistakes done by them. To clarify this point more data is needed before a firm conclusion is reached. If the manager answers the above three questions, it will be possible to fully evaluate the validity of the argument.