The following appeared in a memorandum from the manager of KNOW radio station.

"Several factors indicate that KNOW radio can no longer succeed as a rock-and-roll music station. Consider, for example, that the number of people in our listening area over fifty years of age has increased dramatically, while our total number of listeners has declined. Also, music stores in our area report decreased sales of rock-and-roll music. Finally, continuous news stations in neighboring cities have been very successful. We predict that switching KNOW radio from rock-and-roll music to 24-hour news will allow the station to attract older listeners and make KNOW radio more profitable than ever."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

In this passage, the author recommends switching KNOW radio from rock-and-roll music to 24-hour news, because it will allow the station to attract major predicted listeners in this district for the sake of guaranteeing profits. To support his/her claim, the author cites a list of information to prove the fade of rock-and-roll music and potential of news publication. Quite reasonable though such recommendation appears at first glance, there exists several questions regarding his/her reasoning that requires further analysis. Thus, the author's conclusion could end up being pretty compelling or invalid in the end, depending on the answers to the questions.

To start off, the author's reasoning heavily relies on whether or not audiences over fifty years old in a robust increasing trend could comprise majority of target customers of KNOW radio station, a question that is not yet answered. It is likely that such elder group mightn't be the main focus for radio station, because the absolute number of such group is very minuscule compared with the total audience number. Without additional information to evaluate its percentage among the overall population and detailed information about their interests in future, it is of equal likelihood that elder audiences could keep the enthusiasm as time goes by. Both of those two phenomena could seriously challenge the author's viewpoint about importance of elder group and render his/her claim much less advisable. On the contrary, any valid proof that such group actually keep their mania for radio group and contribute to majority of target customers in KNOW radio station could strengthen his/her reasoning.

Granted that elder group is the target for KNOW's focus and given the fact that music's sales status in local market, whether rock-and-roll music has diminished their attraction for local residents needs a second look. The probability that music store's reports might be biased must be considered and addressed. Yet, if the author could unequivocally demonstrate that such stores vividly reveal the truth and such prediction is applied for the raido music as well, his/her reasoning will gain more weights.

Furthermore, another question that requires our deliberation is whether the neighouring cities' upsurging new stations could be refered for KNOW case. While other cites has geological vincity, the probability that such nearby location mightn't lead to similiar taste of local resident could not be excluded in advance. For example, people in KNOW's district might differentiate from those in another cities. Thus, we have no clues whether successful stories of another cites could be used in KNOW without any problem. If no, the author's viewpoint is unlikely to make more audiences for KNOW station.

Last but not least, while we can acknowledge for a moment that all of aforementioned questions cling to support the author's idea, it remains to be seen whether resorting to news couldn't impact original audience of KNOW. If such suggestion lead to great loss of previous major audience, this is doubtful that it could inevitably increase total audience and help profits in future.

In summary, while turning to news for KNOW's broadcasting might attract more elder people as its audience, this is a conclusion that we cannot derive from the information available in the argument. Furthermore, even if elder people is KNOW's target candidates, the efficiency of such proposal is still built upon implications, which are open to different probabilities. Only after the aforementioned questions are adequately addressed can we effectively evaluate such recommendation and reach a logically sound conclusion.