Claim: Any piece of information referred to as a fact should be mistrusted, since it may well be proven false in the future.

Reason: Much of the information that people assume is factual actually turns out to be inaccurate.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

With increasing new breakthrough and discoveries in modern society, more and more people keep a skeptical attitude about various information surrounding us. Someone even claims that any piece of information referred to as a fact will be bound to be mistrusted, since it may well be proven false in the future. The more profound reason behind is that much of the information that people assume is factual actually turns out to be inaccurate. From my perspective of view, it is undeniably true that our improved perception for information would discover more faults in the past documentation. However, this doesn't mean that we should take a pessimistic attitude like the author states. Furthermore, we should seriously take information as true and let time and further knowledge to test them in the future.

To start off, if we take a glance at the past, many information that we supposed as true are toppled over by the later new perception. From this perspective, both reason and claim parts reveal us for the truth. Looking back to our history, similar examples abounds. For instance, before Galileo discloses the real relationship between gravity and the free-fall speed, majority of people in ancient Western world still trust Aristotle's idea that the heavier one of two irony balls thrown aloft could attain faster speed and reach the ground firstly. However, after the famous experiment launched by Galileo in Pisa leaning tower, humankind understand how flaw Aristotle's idea is and turn to consider how gravity determine the free-fall speed. In short, it is because of limited knowledge in previous time that people, even as great as Aristotle, could commit some seemingly naive error from contemporary viewpoint, which has been disproved by the later experiments. From this perspective, both of claim and reason hold tenable.

However, tenable as such claim and reason holds in the aforementioned situation, I have to contend that we shouldn't keep suspicious about all information around our life and work, because such distrusting attitude could incur many detrimental influence on us. Trusting for information available on hand builds up the foundation of our current knowledge scope, even the solid basis for our modern civilization. If we disbelieve any piece of information in either our work or study, we can't absorb any new knowledge any more, let alone making progress and surpass our precedent. Take Galileo's questioning for Aristotle as example. At the very beginning, he totally trusted Aristotle's information and had learnt a lot of important principles for gravity and quality about materials. It is only by such accumulation of knowledge and following with several experimented initialized by Aristotle that Galileo discovered the inconsistency between his idea and the reality. That is to say, such dependency on the past information of Aristotle help Galileo build up his correct knowledge for gravity. Without the resut for previous hardword or principles, nothing could be archieved in term of gravity principle.

Last but not least, considering the process how we discover the everlasting axiom and reach so-called truth, it is necessary to address that such "trust-mistrust" process actually drive us to reach perfection in our questing of knowledge. And each of those two steps couldn't omit in this process. On one hand, only trusting knowledges on hand could enable people to learn experience from others, as discussed for Galileo's learning from Aristotle. More importantly, such characteristics is determine by our primary learning process for the world. Because our world is so complex with many perspectives that even wise men, like Galileo and Aristotle, couldn't learn every aspects of their research works and grasp with the essential rules behind. This decides that we have to suffer a spiral jounery during the learning: staring with their accumulated knowledge , discovering flaws and further improving it. And our today's accomplishment could also serve for the stepstone for other in future. In this sense, all of trust and mistrust steps can't be skipped.

In summary, it is true that information considered to be true might be repudiated by our later perception of the world. However, as discussed before, it is evident that such failure for grasping the fact at the very beginning should not impede us with trust for our current understanding. Furthermore, the trust and mistrust process is actually determined by how we understand the world and dominated by our learning characteristics. Therefore, any of those necessary steps should not be displaced or belittled.