The following appeared in a memorandum from the owner of Movies Galore, a chain of movie-rental stores.

"In order to stop the recent decline in our profits, we must reduce operating expenses at Movies Galore's ten movie-rental stores. Since we are famous for our special bargains, raising our rental prices is not a viable way to improve profits. Last month our store in downtown Marston significantly decreased its operating expenses by closing at 6:00 P.M. rather than 9:00 P.M. and by reducing its stock by eliminating all movies released more than five years ago. By implementing similar changes in our other stores, Movies Galore can increase profits without jeopardizing our reputation for offering great movies at low prices."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The given recommendation will be able to obtain the predicted results only if the numerous stated and unstated assumptions prove to be true. Many unwarranted claims have been made in this recommendation without which the drawn conclusion gets nullified.

It is stated in the beginning of the recommendation that reducing operating expenses at the ten rental stores of Movies Galore will help in reversing the recent decline in their profits. We have insufficient information regarding the amount of decrease in profits or regarding which stores affected the decline in their profits the most. Even if the statistical values are made available, there is no guarantee that reducing the operational costs will help in increasing the profits. A proper and valid research and survey about the variations of profits in each of store of Movies Galore, and a well-analyzed report regarding the various reasons for the decrease in profits can serve to provide an accurate solution for the problem at hand. In the later part of the recommendation, it is also claimed that increasing their rental prices will not be a viable option for improving profits, given the reputation of Movies Galore and its fame for special bargains. Yet again, there is no proof or assurance that taking this route to improve profits will not yield the desired results, because of lack of sufficient information.

Furthermore, a comparision is being made with a change that was brought about a month ago in one of the stores of Movies Galore, in downtown Marston. It is said that the store in Marston brought about a decrease in its operating expenses by shifting its closing time from 9:00 pm to 6:00 pm. It also reduced its stock by eliminating movies that are more than five years old. Then the recommendation goes on to assert that implementing similar changes in every other store of Movies Galore is sure to reverse the decline in profits without jeopardizing their reputation of offering great movies at cheap costs. I beg to differ with the owner’s point of view. Firstly, no evidence has been provided showing the increase in profits of the store in Marston. It’s only been told that they successfully reduced their operational costs, but it does not say anything about their profits. In case the assumption that reduction in operational costs led to reduced profits is considered true, the people living all the other areas in which the store is located cannot be compared or expected to react in the same way as the people of Marston.

For example, the residents of Marston might be brimming with youngsters and millenials who do not enjoy movies that are older than five years, but that might not be the case in other areas. In another area where Movies Galore is located, most of the residents might actually belong to an older age group, who enjoy movies from their age and time. There could be several other reasons which led to the decrease in operation costs in the downtown of Marston, but bringing about the same changes in every other store of Movies Galore will not guarantee a reversal of the decline in profits.

In conclusion, the argument is riddled with many fallacies which do not support the conclusion drawn. Unless and until a thorough research is carried out regarding the decline in profits for the video rental chain and statistical evidence is provided to support the same, the predicted result is unlikely to happen.