Some people believe that corporations have a responsibility to promote the well-being of the societies and environments in which they operate. Others believe that the only responsibility of corporations, provided they operate within the law, is to make as much money as possible.

I have an inclination towards the first view among the two given views. I mostly agree that corporations do carry the responsibility of promoting the well-being of the societies and environments in which they operate in.

Corporations can mean the private organizations as well as the public or government organizations. They can range from being municipal corporations to huge manufacturing factories. Therefore, when any corporation is set up in a particular society or environment, it surely must abide by the laws, as well as ensure that the residents of that area are not affected or harmed by the acivities they carry out in any way. Let’s say there is a chemical industry that is planning to set up its factory in a particular area. Consequentially, the natives tend to get apprehensive about the idea and would oppose the establishment of such a corporation in the place they reside in, because any factory is bound to produce and release a lot of waste and toxic substances into the environment, which will slowly, but surely start affecting the lives in that area. But if the factory promises of making sure to release waste in a benign manner and assure to not affect the well-being of the residents in any manner, and make sure to abide by the promise, they will be most welcome into the area. It’ll prove to be a win-win situation; the corporation gets to set up their factory in the place they decided, and the residents get to enjoy the fame of having a huge factory in their community without being affected negatively by the same.

Similarly, if a municipal corporation is being set up in a particular society, its sole responsibility would be to promote the well-being of the people living there as well as the environment. It becomes their responsibility to promote awareness about the needs to keep the environment clean, to dispose waste in a proper manner and to maintain discipline in the colonies and streets of the society. They could conduct campaigns, rallies and movements for the same. If they get money-minded about this, it removes the purpose of having a municipal corporation in the first place. Caring only about making money while abiding by the laws does not mean that the corporation is doing a good job. Being only money minded indirectly implies that the corporates can go to any extent, nonchalant about the society, and make use of pernicious means to get their work done and earn money. This turns out to be virulent for the society. This holds true in case of any operating corporation. But this doesn’t mean that the corporations take up the entire responsibility to promote the well-being of societies and environments in which they operate. The denizens also play a part in maintaining the welfare of their own society. The corporations alone should not be held culprit in case things get out of hand.

In conclusion, a joint effort and shared responsibility by both, the residents of a particular community as well as the corporations, can help maintain the well-being of the society as well as the environment surrounding them.