The following is an excerpt from a speech given to the School Board about a change to the curriculum:

"Because the future will be dominated by technology, we must make four years of computer programming mandatory for all high school students. If our students take these classes, they’ll all be able to get high-paying programming jobs and lead fulfilling lives because software engineers and data scientists have the best job prospects and salaries. Therefore, we must educate our students so they can secure these kinds of jobs. Even if they pursue other careers, programming will still benefit them, given that all industries are becoming more technological."

The givent excerpt regarding the change in curriculum states that making four years of computer programming mandatory for all high school students will guarantee high-paying jobs for the students in their future. The argument can be properly evaluated only after looking closely at the several stated and unstated assumptions.

Firstly, there is no basis for the given claim that making four years of programming mandatory for high schoolers will be able to get them high paying jobs in the field of data science and software engineering, and lead fulfilling lives. On what grounds is the period of "four" years chosen? There is no clear answer for this question in the given excerpt. And there is absolutely no evidence or proof to show that the knowledge gained from four years of learning programming in high school would be sufficient enough to pursue a career in programming related fields. If only information was provided regarding the exact topics that would be covered in the curriculum with respect to programming, the argument could have been considerable.

Moreover, a student is a young, budding individual who has a wide range of scope in terms of career options. Sure, software engineers and data scientists have great job oppurtunities and salaries, but these aren't the only two career paths that fetch a good amount of money for leading a fulfiling life. A child or student should be allowed to have the freedom to choose what he wants to pursue for a career based on his or her interests. And not everyone develops interests within a period of time. Some students might develop interest in a particular field at a very young age, while others might still be in the stage of exploring and finding what interests them the most. Career is something that one will pursue for the rest of their lives. Imposing a particular career path is not a judicious choice. And there might be people who might want to switch up their careers as their interests develop. For example, Dr, A P J Abdul Kalam was a scientist way before he become the president of India. He pursued the career out of sheer interest and thirst for knowledge and he contributed a lot for the same. Later, he went on to become the president of India, doing a wonderful job at that too. This shows that one must not curb the scope of a child, as they say "Children are the future of tomorrow".

Secondly, even if we do consider that a student is interested in programming and the implementation of compuslory computer programming proves beneficial for the child in learning and developing his interests, there is no guarantee that he'll land a job in the future. Many other factors come into play when we consider the scenario of getting placed for a job. The comminication skills, knowledge in other fields important for that particular job, experience in leadership roles, etc. play a major role in getting selected for a job. Furthermore, the claim goes on say that even if a student is choosing to pursue other careers, programming will benefit them as all industries are becoming technological. I agree that technology is taking over the world and making life easier for us in many different ways. That doesn't mean programming will serve as an useful asset if a person chooses to pursue a career path that is completely unrelated to computers or programming, like architecture or liguist or politics or fine arts. For example, if an architectural industry is becoming technological, it will contain people to do the technical work for them; it isn't necessary that an architect needs to be well versed with programming, because his job will not require that.

In conclusion, the given excerpt is riddled with fallacies and unwarranted assumptions. Without the necessary evidences and information, the given argument does not hold water.