The following appeared in a memorandum from the owner of Movies Galore, a chain of movie-rental stores.

"In order to stop the recent decline in our profits, we must reduce operating expenses at Movies Galore's ten movie-rental stores. Since we are famous for our special bargains, raising our rental prices is not a viable way to improve profits. Last month our store in downtown Marston significantly decreased its operating expenses by closing at 6:00 P.M. rather than 9:00 P.M. and by reducing its stock by eliminating all movies released more than five years ago. By implementing similar changes in our other stores, Movies Galore can increase profits without jeopardizing our reputation for offering great movies at low prices."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In this memo, the author of Movies Galore concludes that in order to increase profits without jeopardizing their reputation for offering great movies at low prices, reducing the operating expenses of store and eliminating the more than five year old movies from stores stocks. However, the owner's argument is problematic in several critical aspects.

Firstly, the argument depends upon the hasty assumption that to increase the profit of movie-rental store, store should reduce their operating expenses. Despite the fact of increasing operating expenses leads, huge amount of profit and revenue from it. Though, Movie rental store is famous for special bargains, increasing in rental cost of movie would not make it harder for their customers and make some lucrative.

Secondly, the owner of movie rental store compare the facts of its one of the store in downtown of Marston without mentioning any reason for it. Though Marston's movie rental store reduced operating expenses, store does not talk about the profit. How much profit is made? either increased or decreased situation. Moreover, movie store reduces the stocks of its more than five-year old movies.Even so reducing both factors, owner cannot prove the profit of Marston's store.

Thirdly, by adopting the above two mentioned strategies in current store. it does not assures that reducing operating expenses and eliminating old movies, will increase a substantial amount of profit. In other words, Owner does not assures the profitable decision for current situation of the store.

In summary, the argument is not persuasive as it stand. To bolster the argument owner of movie rental store should cites quantitative approach with results, for evaluating and to get the better results.