The following appeared in a memorandum written by the chairperson of the West Egg Town Council.

"Two years ago, consultants predicted that West Egg's landfill, which is used for garbage disposal, would be completely filled within five years. During the past two years, however, the town's residents have been recycling twice as much material as they did in previous years. Next month the amount of recycled material — which includes paper, plastic, and metal — should further increase, since charges for pickup of other household garbage will double. Furthermore, over 90 percent of the respondents to a recent survey said that they would do more recycling in the future. Because of our town's strong commitment to recycling, the available space in our landfill should last for considerably longer than predicted."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

Chairperson of west egg town council demands to increase the amount of recycled material such as paper, plastic and metal as charges for pickup of other household garbage will double. As according to his memorandum in past two year town’s residents has been recycling twice as much material as they did in previous year and according to survey made it is been concluded that 90 percent of people will do more recycling in feature. However, before this demand can properly evaluate, some question must be answer.

First of all, how efficient was the survey? Maybe, survey which is made has done in small area with minimum number of people. Maybe population in our town will burgeon in coming years as it is developing area many people will migrate here searching for job opportunities which will lead to increase in quantity in garbage. If it is true then it is blatant that survey which was carried out will be erroneous and garbage disposal land will soon get fill then estimated time leading to many problems which will exacerbate the present condition.

Secondly, on what bases conclusion is drawn that by doubling the charges of pickup truck people will recycle more? Maybe, idea of doubling the charges of pickup truck will be debacle. People will not recycle as they used to do before and if this happens to be true then it will exacerbate the situation. This may also lead to attenuate the conclusion that landfill will be available for longer. Maybe due to this action landfill will be filling before predicted time and if this happen then it is blatant that memorandum does not hold any water.

Finally, how long people will remember their commitment? Or what make you think that all people will follow their commitment? Commitment is made for next three years and it is blatant that all people will not remember their commitment or if they remember they will benight the commitment which will lead to debacle. As population will also increase it is plausible that new residents will not know about this commitment and they will continue to recycle waste according to their convenience. If this happens to be true then landfill will be filled very soon and it will attenuate the predicted time.

In conclusion, the evidence provided by the chairperson, that supports his claim, is dubious as well as erroneous. If all the questions are answer and more evidences are provided it will strengthen the argument.