The following appeared in a memorandum written by the vice president of Health Naturally, a small but expanding chain of stores selling health food and other health-related products.

"Our previous experience has been that our stores are most profitable in areas where residents are highly concerned with leading healthy lives. We should therefore build one of our new stores in Plainsville, which clearly has many such residents. Plainsville merchants report that sales of running shoes and exercise equipment are at all-time highs. The local health club, which nearly closed five years ago due to lack of business, has more members than ever, and the weight-training and aerobics classes are always full. We can even anticipate a new generation of customers: Plainsville's schoolchildren are required to participate in a program called Fitness for Life, which emphasizes the benefits of regular exercise at an early age."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The memorandum written by the vice president of Health Naturally concludes that their company should build a new store in Plainsville. It is based on the healthy lifestyles of the residents and the increasing demand of health-related products in that area. However, before the argument can be properly assessed, three key assumptions must be examined and validated with appropriate evidences.

To begin, it is irrationally assumed that the previous experience of sales is the accurate predictor of present. It is a strong possibility that in the past, people of Plainsville relied on healthy foods and products to lead a healthy life whereas in the present they are not reserved about food habits but they go to walk or gym regularly to be physically fit. Perhaps, the records of the running shoes and other exercise equipment also indicate the same. If any of the above situation has merits, the argument will be seriously weakened.

Second, it is prematurely considered that the report of the Plainsville merchants is valid and true. Nonetheless, it is a strong possibility that those merchants want to grab the opportunity to be a part of "Health Naturally" and make money. It is also possible that report from the merchants is misleadingly presented. Perhaps, the merchants affirm that the existing companies are now competing each other and they are the top-notch priority of the local customers. If this is the case, the Health Naturally can't expect flourishment in Plainsville and the conclusion of the argument does not hold water.

Last but not the least, it has been unreasonably assumed that school children will purchase their health related products because of their enrollment in the 'Fitness for Life' program. However, it is possible that schools of Plainsville have set all the necessary arrangements for the program and parents don't have to buy anything from a local store such as Health Naturally. It is also a possibility that the title of the program is not related to physical exercise or physical activities at all: it is solely based on the mental fitness and how moral and ethical characteristics make someone's life fit. If any of the above mentioned points are true, the argument will be seriously undermined.

To summarize, the argument, as it stands now, is seriously flawed because of its' reliance on many unwarranted assumptions. If the author of the passage can provide specific evidences against the mentioned assumptions as discussed above, the implications of the argument can be properly evaluated.