The following recommendation was made by the president and administrative staff of Grove College, a private institution, to the college's governing committee.

"We recommend that Grove College preserve its century-old tradition of all-female education rather than admit men into its programs. It is true that a majority of faculty members voted in favor of coeducation, arguing that it would encourage more students to apply to Grove. But 80 percent of the students responding to a survey conducted by the student government wanted the school to remain all female, and over half of the alumnae who answered a separate survey also opposed coeducation. Keeping the college all female will improve morale among students and convince alumnae to keep supporting the college financially."

According to the recommendation by the president of Grove College, the institution should remain its' practice to let the female students only to enroll and preserve its' morale. It is based on the survey response from the students and the alumni who strongly contradicted coeducation. However, before accepting her recommendations, three specific questions are needed to be answered on which the argument as a whole is strongly founded.

First of all, is it wise to compare and finalize a decision based on the ancient tradition? It is a strong possibility that Grove College during the early 1900s was the only college for female students. Since, the female education about a hundred years ago was seriously abolished, the Grove College came forward to educate the female child. However, in modern era female children are accepted worldwide along with the male children. Therefore, disallowing the male students to admit may be a conservative idea and many parents may not be keen to send their children to Grove College. If this instance becomes true, the argument of the passage will hold no water and thus can't be accepted.

Secondly, did all the students of the Grove College participate in the survey? The argument despite mentioning the percentage, did not refer the number of students studied in Grove College and the number of students participated in the survey. It is a strong possibility that the survey had set the questions that attempted to discourage coeducation. As a consequence, only the students who are strongly in favor of this decision participated in the survey. For example, there might be 1000 of students in total in the Grove College and only 200 students participated and 160 voted for female education. Perhaps, the remaining 840 students are advocating combined education. Similar conclusion may be drawn from the alumni survey as well. If any of these points becomes true, the recommendation by the president will be seriously weakened.

Finally, is the coeducation and alumni support corelated? The passage inchoately assumed that if the coeducation program is launched, the alumnus will stop providing financial assistance. However, it may be possible that the alumni are more eager to donate for the college to establish distinct facilities for the boys like separate common room, library or even dormitories. They may express their reluctance to initiate the combined education within the same space due to capacity issues, however, they welcomed the decision cordially in case of establishing new facilities. Perhaps, many of them are keen enough to assist the governing committee directly to resolve financial hurdles. If any of the mentioned circumstances become true, the conclusion by the writer will become unwarranted and can't be accepted.

To conclude, there may be some valid points about starting the coeducation program in the Grove college premises. However, from the above discussion, it is apparent the mentioned points are logically flawed and can't be agreed with.