Claim: Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's major field of study.

Reason: Acquiring knowledge of various academic disciplines is the best way to become truly educated.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

Education is the backbone of a nation. Especially, a person can be a potential asset for his country if he is truly educated; that implies if he has the caliber to deal with the unprecedented situations with his knowledge and wisdom. The prompt implies that in order to be truly educated, universities should mandate a variety of courses for every students. In my opinion, I strongly agree with the opinion and argue that a wide range of courses are really beneficial for students for three specific reasons.

First of all, the importance of a particular program or major is not ever-lasting. The world is whimsical and it is really difficult to predict what is important today will be significant after twenty years. Consider the example of Furton programming of C programming knowledge. During the 1990s-2000s, Furton was the most commendable programming software and people who were adept in Furton, were expected to solve any type of programming problems. Later the evolvement of big data called into question the importance of Furton language since it could not handle a large number of variables. Consequently, there are now other programming languages such as C++, Java, Python, MATLAB etc. People who confined themselves to learn only Furton language are no longer able to solve large and complex problems because of their limitations. On the other hand, people who are now master in different types of programming language, are welcomed wholeheartedly. If any university authority like to see their students adapt to a competitive environment in their future, their is no alternative to teach a variety of courses. Otherwise, the education of the fresh graduates will be incomplete.

Secondly, in order to cope with the volatile market of today's world, there is no alternative to showcase proficiency in a wide range of activities. Consider an instance where a person will give a technical presentation in a symposium on the use of robotic arm grip and the detailed mechanism. Undoubtedly, scientific conferences are not interesting to the lay people and so the presenter needs to deliver it interestingly to his audience. In order to make his speech appealing, he needs to have a good communication skills, be fluent while speaking and come up with many case examples to show the use in our practical life. If he fails to make his presentation attractive, his erudition in the work or his purpose will be ridiculed and perhaps he will considered uneducated or unsmart to bring changes for the community. Universities can play the most vital role to develop a sense of these skills along with other other techniques by offering a wide range of courses outside the intended major.

Last but not the least, the learning outcomes of a person is considered fruitful when he can utilize his knowledge for the sake of his country. In this regard, whenever a student is taught with a wide range of activities, he can spontaneously make a connection among the courses and plan to do something for his country. Consider the invention of light bulb by Toms Edison. He was greatly influenced by the sorrows of the people as he learned from his sociology course. He wanted to ameliorate the situation and later invented light bulbs. Therefore, universities should give the students scope to think deeply for the welfare of the community by teaching them a mixture of courses of their majors and other academic subjects as well.