The following appeared on the Mozart School of Music Web site.

"The Mozart School of Music should be the first choice for parents considering enrolling their child in music lessons. First of all, the Mozart School welcomes youngsters at all ability and age levels; there is no audition to attend the school. Second, the school offers instruction in nearly all musical instruments as well a wide range of styles and genres from classical to rock. Third, the faculty includes some of the most distinguished musicians in the area. Finally, many Mozart graduates have gone on to become well-known and highly paid professional musicians."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author asserts that parents should choose Mozart School of Music while enrolling their children for music lessons. The author has come to this conclusion on the basis of his/her belief that Mozart is the best school for music as it offers instructions on wide range of musical instruments and genres by some most distinguished musicians in the area, and many Mozart graduates had become well-known and highly paid professional musicians. At the first glance, the argument appears to be convincing; however, on closer inspection, it is found to be rife with holes and unwarranted assumptions. The author should provide additional significant evidences in order to provide sufficient ground for the argument to stand.

First of all, the author states that Mozart welcomes youngsters at all ability and age levels. On the basis of this fact, the author naively assumes that Mozart is highly successful in imparting musical knowledge to all the students it welcomes. However, this assumption falls short given the lack of evidence regarding the instruction method it offers to the students of all physical and mental abilities. Since not all the students are equally equipped with physical and mental abilities, these students require diverse teaching methods for effective learning. The same teaching methods used to instruct a normal student may not suitable to instill musical knowledge (instrumental and vocal) to the students who are mentally retarded or visionless and other physical defects. The author should provide reliable evidences regarding the teaching processes Mozart offers to all types of students it welcomes in order to analyze and evaluate the argument.

Secondly, the author cites that Mozart has some of the most distinguished musicians in the area. Grounding on this fact, the author prematurely believes that Mozart should be the best musical schools one should choose. However, it might not be true. Mozart includes some of the distinguished musicians does not mean that Mozart is effective in instructing musical knowledge to the students. To be a good musician and to be an effective music teacher are two completely different things like being wealthy and being a magnanimous donor are different. The author should provide persuasive evidence whether these distinguished musicians are effective teachers also in order to support the argument. Further, the author overlooked the possibility of the presence of many reputed musical schools in nearby areas which could have numbers of effective musical teachers.

Thirdly, the author presumptuously assumes that significantly large numbers of Mozart graduates are being well-known high pay musicians. However, this assumption might be misleading given the lack of detail information about the numbers of Mozart graduate each year. It could be possible that 20 students could be able to become successful musicians each year which sounds great. However, it could be, in fact insignificant if the numbers of Mozart graduate each year is more than 1000. The author should provide statistical data of the students that graduates each year from Mozart and the number of graduates which has become successful musicians in order to evaluate the argument.

In sum, though the argument seems convincing, it lacks its persuasiveness due to its reliance upon several unwarranted assumptions. The author needs to provide additional compelling evidences in order to support argument. Unless the author provides such evidences, the argument remains highly dubious and cannot be reasonably established.