The following appeared in a newsletter offering advice to investors:

“Techcorporation is our top pick for investment this term. We urge all of our clients to invest in this new company. For the first time in ten years, a company that has developed satellite technology has been approved by the FTA to compete with the current satellite provider. That company is Techcorporation. A consumer survey last year indicated that over eighty percent of respondents were dissatisfied with the current satellite television provider and would want to switch to another provider if the industry were not a monopoly. Thus, the new venture of Techcorporation into satellite television will prove to be highly profitable for those who invest now.”

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the advice and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the advice.

The authors argument to endorse Techcorporation based on the survey looks convincing at first considering that Techcorporation are the ones who developed the satellite technology. But to get enough investors, author would have to give evidence to the assumptions that he has made in the flawed argument.

Author has bluntly mentioned that as per the survey results, people would surely like to switch to other satellite provider. But there are no facts and figures mentioned about how was this survey conducted? How many people participated in this survey? What was the reason for their dissatisfaction? Was it because of the high prices or the poor quality? If it is just because of the high prices, it might happen that the current satellite TV provider may just reduce the price as soon as it gets to know that it is having a strong contender in the market and people might not even think of changing the subscription. Was the survey conducted across the wider area? If it was only one are out of ten areas where at the moment due to some technical problem the current TV provider is not able to provide best service then it is obvious to get the negative reviews as the opinions of rest of the major part were not taken as part of this survey.

Author says that Techcorporation is the one who developed the satelite technology but doesn't talk about their production line. They might have excellent scientist who invented the technology but then do the company have enough resources to mass produce the Set-top boxes required to catch the satellite signals? Have they tasted their technology across wide area? Were they successful with that. Catering to large population is certainly not easy task. People always try to opt the reliable or experienced players. It being new venture of Techcorporation, people might be hesitant in the beginning to go with this new TV provider. So investor would surely like to know if the company has considered all these aspects and what is their plan to tackle this.

It is mentioned that investors would get high returns in the future. But nowhere author defines high. It being a relative term, people might not get returns as high as what they might be getting from current TV provider. Also, it being a new venture, people would like to know the fallback plan. What would happen to their money if Techcorporations withdraw from market or it fails to attract enough viewers which in turn causes immense loss on account of Techcorporations etc. Investors would surely like to get a kind assurance that their money is going into the safe hands and it fetch them real high returns better than their current profits from other business or current TV provider.

Techcorporation being the one who developed the technology, FTA approval and the survey reports do make the author's case a strong one. But it may not be strong enough to pull enough numbers of investors unless author supports the argument with strong teneable evidences and accurate facts and figures which would give assurance to investors for plausible high benefits.