The following appeared as an opinion-editorial in a local newspaper:

In the last 10 years, the number of patrons to the local library has decreased by a factor of 5, while during that time the number of purchases of electronic books has increased by a factor of 10. The director of the library believes that the cause of the decrease in patrons is due to the library not advertising as effectively as do online merchants that sell electronic books. Therefore, the library should double the amount of money that it spends on advertising, so that more patrons will frequent the library.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered to help evaluate the recommendation, and whether the argument is reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions help to determine the extent to which the recommendation is justified.

Library has always been and will remain an apt place to study, read and gain knowledge from books. Thus a good library should have a vast variety of books and good and serene atmosphere to help a person concentrate on what they are doing. I feel that the recommendation that the library should increase the amount of money it spends on advertising to increase the patrons frequenting the library is not fully justified.

In order to evaluate this one should ask whether the library has sufficient books for its patrons. A person will always prefer a library which has a wide variety of books. A library should cover most types of books from fictional to reference, from magazines, newspapers to comics. Whatever the mood of a person is, the library should have a book to cater to its patrons need. If a library does not fulfil the need of different books available at one place, under one roof, its patrons are bound to search for alternative measures. With the upcoming electronic books, where a person can get any type of book he/she want sitting at his home, they would prefer the electronic book over going to the library. This special book makes a wide range of books available with just one touch. But some people do prefer the reading from a physical book.

Another important question one must ask about the library is whether it has suitable environment fit for reading and studying. A library should have a clean and airy atmosphere, large windows, proper lighting and should be in a noise free area. Greenery around the place would also be a plus point but need not be necessary. It should possibly have rooms where students or people can discuss on certain issues without disturbing the others. There should be a helping librarian, who knows where the various books are kept. Not only this, but the books should be kept in good condition and arranged properly on the shelves according to the type of book. Whereas in an electronic book, all these are not required. It is a device similar to a mobile, it can be taken anywhere and books can be read at any time, be it day or night. They have light adjusting options which make it suitable for reading.

In all, I would suggest that rather than spending money on advertising, the library should ask these question and try to overcome issues of the patrons. The library should see what facilities the electronic book is providing and try to incorporate some of them if possible.