The following appeared as an opinion-editorial in a local newspaper:

In the last 10 years, the number of patrons to the local library has decreased by a factor of 5, while during that time the number of purchases of electronic books has increased by a factor of 10. The director of the library believes that the cause of the decrease in patrons is due to the library not advertising as effectively as do online merchants that sell electronic books. Therefore, the library should double the amount of money that it spends on advertising, so that more patrons will frequent the library.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered to help evaluate the recommendation, and whether the argument is reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions help to determine the extent to which the recommendation is justified.

According to the opinion-editorial in a local newspaper, where it is clearly stated that because of the decline in the number of patrons to the local library by a factor of 10 in past few years, there should be a dire need to double the amount of money that it spends on advertising, so that more patrons will visit the library. However, the argument is based on number of assumptions which arises lot of questions which would need to be answered and there is a necessity for further investigation to evaluate the soundness of the argument.

Firstly, the author mentions in the opinion-editorial that there is decrease by a factor of 5 in the number of patrons to the local library whereas there is increase by factor of 10 in the number of purchases of electronic books. In this statement he does not mention the exact figure of number of decrease and increase of patrons and purchasers respectively. So here question arises how many patrons decrease in this period? or how many purchasers increase in this period? Suppose if number of patrons to the local library are 5 in 1990 and after ten years these will decrease to 1 then, it is not of much significance. Yes, if number of patrons to the local library are 5000 in 1990 and after ten years these will decrease to 1000, then it requires immediate measures to be taken to increase the patrons. Similarly, if there is increase of Large amount of purchasers only then its a topic of worry for library authorities. So to bolster his argument he must have to mention the exact figures in counting numbers so that readers can get the exact idea.

Secondly, the author says in the opinion-editorial that there increase in number of purchasers of electronic books which is the cause of his worry. As there is increase in technology and due to obsequious electronic media people now become use to it and uses it for their comfort and benefit. now here the question arises which is more comfortable to study library or home? Obviously home . so the patrons avoid the library perhaps its dilapidated condition is the reason or it is not providing more facilities to its patrons that's why they have decided to buy electronic book and study in cozy environment which is their home.

Furthermore, the author adds in the opinion-editorial there should be a need of advertising the library so that it will attract the patron. But here question arises what if people deliberately ignore it? what if they do not want to come there and avail its services? will it wastes its money on advertisement? here is the best live example, the Maulana Azad library, which is the biggest library of Asia at aligarh Muslim University, aligarh, it is 5 storeys building and has millions of books, research thesis, magazines, ,etc. but still there has been seen a decline in number of patrons in the past two decades and its reason is emerging technology. Everybody wants to save his time and want to study in its comfort zone. author should consider all these evidences.

In conclusion, its author needs to present more evidence to support the assumptions that have been made in the argument to convince us that there should be need to spend double amount on advertising of library, so that more patrons will visit the library. In its present form, the argument is not very strong.