The following appeared as part of an article in a business magazine.

"A recent study rating 300 male and female Mentian advertising executives according to the average number of hours they sleep per night showed an association between the amount of sleep the executives need and the success of their firms. Of the advertising firms studied, those whose executives reported needing no more than 6 hours of sleep per night had higher profit margins and faster growth. These results suggest that if a business wants to prosper, it should hire only people who need less than 6 hours of sleep per night."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the article, the author argues that a company should hire people who sleep less than 6 hours per night to prosper. He supplements his argument with the assumption that sleeping less than 6 hours per night leads to the higher profit and that the result of the survey on the executives of advertising firms is reliable. Although the argument may seem convincing at first, the unsubstantiated assumptions lead readers to conclude that the argument is flawed on many grounds.

To begin with, the author assumes that, based on the survey result that reports the correlation between sleeping hour and profit margins, sleeping less than 6 hours entails higher profit. However, it should be noted that the correlation does not imply the causation between the two factors; it is plausible that the executives who reported a higher profit are simply from the firm that requires longer time to commute than that of the lower executives. Therefore, the author should add more information that can clarify the causation between sleeping hours and profits.

Moreover, the author makes an assumption that the survey result is reliable. However, as evinced in the article, the survey is conducted to executives. The characteristic of the repondent is thus diametrically opposed to the newly hired employee, and therefore it is far-fetched to assume that the employee should make more profit if they sleep less. In all likelihood, for newly hired employees, the correlation between the insomina caused by smartphones and sleeping hours can be stronger than that between profit margins and sleeping hours. Therefore, the author should clarify how the survey result extends to the newly hired employees.

Lastly, another assumption the author makes is that in order to succeed, a company should hire people who sleep less than six hours. This assumption is also implausible in that the survey is done to the executives of "advertising" firms. Even if the aforementioned assumptions are all correct, however, it is likely that the causation of sleeping less and making higher profit is only limited to the advertisement industry. For example, in computer science industry, it is possible that people who make more profit tends to sleep more, thanks to the high programming efficiency they have. Therefore, the author should add more information on how the survey result can be applicable to any kinds of industry.

In brief, the argument the author avers is not compelling due to the hasty generalization of the survey result to the employees of any industry. Therefore, the author should bolster his argument by elaborating more on the validity of extending the survey result to the employees of any industry and the correlation between sleeping hours and profits.