Claim: Young people's tendency to make extensive use of portable devices like smartphones and tablets has hurt their development of social skills.

Reason: These devices encourage users to form artificial personalities and relationships online rather than fully and honestly engaging with the people around them.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

The advent of technological devices such as smart phones has proven advantages that have significantly improves human lives in various ramifications. These benefits, however are not without disadvantages; the most salient of these is the detrimental effects on social interactions of young people. Therefore, I fully agree with the claim and the reasoning on which it is based. And in this response I will explain my stance.

A extensive use of protable devices like android smart phone as resulted in the advent of remote jobs where people can work from their various homes without having to physically interact with their fellow workers. This back up the reason stated in the prompt. Individual develop personalities that are not a true depiction of who they are, and this megatively affects their ability to socialize with people in real life. The occurrence of the COVID-19 pandemic saw munerous organizations retreat to remote working. At after the pandemic numerous studies showed that workers were reluctant to resume work physically This is mostly likely because they had developed ersatz personalities which they could not maintain in real social interactions. This significantly affect their ability to relate with one another physically.

Secondly, extensive use of portable devices has significantly affect the ability of individuals to develop and maintain inter-personal relationships; both platonic and romantic. This is more evident by the plethora of social medial sites and dating sites. Though these social accounts, a young lady can create an a fake persona that is not a true depiction of who she is. This results in problems especially when she goes on a blind date which someone she has not met before. The inability to live up to or maintain that alternate personality affects her ability to socialize with other individuals.

However, we should not be quick to disregard the numerous advantages of that are available due to extensive use of smart devices. One major advantage is work-on-the-go, where people are able to do their daily activities anywhere and everywhere without being limited by space or time. Some people have even been able to acquire social skills through their use of smart phones.

In summary, while the use of smart devices have advantage, they also have numerous disadvantages. One of this is the adverse effect on human interpersonal relationships which is manifested through poor interpersonal relationships between workers and inability to develop and maintain relationships. This reason back up the claim and the reasoning upon which it is developed.