The following memorandum is from the president of Primo Doll Manufacturing, Inc.

"According to a survey last year of parents who purchased the Elkie, our most popular doll, 90 percent reported that although their children were extremely satisfied with the doll's features, the doll quickly wore out with use. In a follow-up survey of the same parents, 80 percent reported that they would recommend a more durable version of the doll to their friends. In response to these surveys, we have created the Elkie-Advanced Doll, which has similar features to the original Elkie Doll but is manufactured using the same higher quality materials used by Optima Doll Manufacturing, our most successful competitor. Because parents can now purchase the beloved Elkie doll and be sure that it won't quickly wear out with use, we predict that our profits will exceed those of Optima Doll Manufacturing this year."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

This memorandum from the president of Primo Doll Manufacturing seeks to establish a connection between the quality of materials used for the Elkie doll and the profir of the company. In doing so, he has given reasons why the current improvement on the doll is sure to out-perform that of their competition Optima Doll. However plausible and well-reasoned this prediction appears, there are certain questions to be answered. Answering these questions would be instrumental in evaluating the possibility of the prediction and argument.

Firstly, what percent of parents would be likely to suggest the new advanced doll to their friends? The survey cited was carried out last year as such it can not be extrapolated to accurately predict outcomes this year. Parents may not be interested in buy the Elkie doll anymore. Possibly because there is a newer doll in the market that kids prefer to play with (probably even manufactured by Optima Doll) or perhaps their kids have out-grown playing with dolls. Therefore a survey similar to that of last year should be carried out to determine the likelihood of parents buying the doll. Because sales is a critical component of profit: without sales, there is not profit.

Secondly, how were the dolls played with by the kids? And how does that extent of usage compare with the current durability of the Elkie-advanced doll? This is important to ascertain that the new and improved doll would be able to withstand the rigour with which kids play with the dolls. For example, it kids attach the dolls to rockets and explode them in the air; the doll is certainly not going to be able to withstand that level of destruction from usage. This would also ascertain that the so-called ‘high quality” materials used to make the dolls would be sufficient to improve the durability of the dolls. The answer to this question can be preferably gotten by actively observing how children play with the dolls.

Also, what is the current profit level of Optima Dolls in terms of their cost of production and revenues? The answers to these shoul be juxtaposed with the information of Primo Doll. It is one thing to be certain of making profit, but the president predicts that Primo Doll’s profit would be more than that of Optimo. As such this information would be essential to determine the current level of performance of the two companies. The inability to establish that Primo Doll can outstrip Optimo would imply that this prediction is not feasible.

In conclusion, the president prediction of out-performing their competition because of higher quality of material now been used may or may not hold water on the long run. The effectively determine the feasibility of the predicition there are questions that would answer the likeliness of sales, comparison of usage to durability and the profit comparisons of the two companies.