The following appeared as part of the Dean’s newsletter:

“The University of Wabash is considering a community service requirement for all undergraduate and graduate students. We believe that the objective of any university is to produce well-rounded and charitable members of society. The proposed graduation requirement would be to complete at least 8 hours of unpaid community service per month for a total of 9 months. The Dean’s office will maintain a list of approved local charities on its website with contact information. This is a fantastic opportunity for students to give back to the community and gain real-world working experience. Most importantly, local charities in need will receive the help that they need to continue their efforts.”

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The prompt highlights the University of Wabash is going to instruct its students to join the community service and provide various reasons to bolster the policy. One of the reasons is that it helps in making juvenile well rounded and also makes them charitable members of the society. Furthermore, the duration of the service was suggested to be at least 8 hours per month and to serve for 9 months. To validate further, the university provide with a list of local charities along with the contact information on the website and ensure that this act will also help needed charities and provide students with working experience. Although the argument sounds plausible, copious logical flaws are founded, and the new policy needs to be amended in order to achieve a more desirable comprehension.

First of all, the argument states that joining with charities will make the children well rounded but no such information is provided that how it facilitates students to become well rounded. To elucidate, there is no list of local charities is described and work the students have to serve which will ultimately make them multitalented. Moreover, there are no constraints on the selection of a particular charity and the students have to decide on their own with no information that which will help them the most. So the argument can be strengthened by listing the details of all the charities and the help needed and along with the reason that how joining a particular charity will make the students well rounded.

Secondly, the argument states that a particular youngster have to spend at least 8 hours a month with a total of 9 months. However, there is no description that how working for such a span of time will help them becoming better-rounded and how the timings are related to the requirement of the charity and the most imperatively the criteria used to decide this duration. Additionally, this time may also affect their ongoing studies and extra tuitions they had joined. Hence, the argument needs to be supported by the list of various services which a younger one needs to do along with the duration of that event and how the studies are managed along with their contribution for this time.

Lastly, the argument states that the children receive the real world working experience but there is no one stated that how this experience will help them in their future. To add more, it has been stated that this will help local charities also but no one it is approved that local charities are in need of help and what type of help they need and how the children service will retain their purpose. Thus, the argument needs to be provided with the information regarding the lacking of charities and how joining of students will serve their purpose and also help the children in future.

Thus, the argument is not logically convincing. The evidence in support of the conclusion has failed to provide information on the above mentioned argument. Thus, there is need to support the argument with detailed and comprehensive analysis of the various points stated.