The following appeared as part of the Dean’s newsletter:

"The University of Wabash is considering a community service requirement for all undergraduate and graduate students. We believe that the objective of any university is to produce well-rounded and charitable members of society. The proposed graduation requirement would be to complete at least 8 hours of unpaid community service per month for a total of 9 months. The Dean’s office will maintain a list of approved local charities on its website with contact information. This is a fantastic opportunity for students to give back to the community and gain real-world working experience. Most importantly, local charities in need will receive the help that they need to continue their efforts."

The central claim here is that the charities in need will receive whatever help they need through this compulsory program, which will benefit them. I'm afraid I have to disagree with the author's claim due to various unstated claims.

Firstly the author has been very vague in the usage of the terms "well-rounded and charitable". The author doesn't go on to describe what a well-rounded student is or what he can be expected to do. It is possible that a well-rounded student is one who is academically doing well as well as participating in lots of sports and extra circulars. On the other hand, it is also possible that it refers to a student who isn't very bright but is charitable and always helps those in need. Further, the author assumes that by helping at these charities the students themselves will become charitable which is not necessary. The author should have conducted a study that would account for the improvements in students that have done community service versus those that haven't to back their claim.

Further, the author has failed to make a clear connection between the students choosing charities and those charities which are in need. There is a high possibility that lots of students sign up for a charity that doesn't need a lot of volunteers. This could lead to a whole mess where most student volunteers are doing insignificant or no work whilst they could have been helping some other charity in need. It also doesn't specify whether the students will have a skillset that can help these charities in a substantial way other than doing menial jobs.

Another unstated assumption that the author makes is that every student volunteer will work properly and efficiently for the allotted time. However, each class has a number of no-gooders who will try to avoid any work and end up being a negative influence on the volunteers at the charity, Another factor to be considered is that the number of students might already be doing charitable work at an organization which isn't stated on the website. In such a case a student will either leave that charity or risk being overloaded with work. Both these scenarios aren't good and haven't been accounted for by the author.

Lastly, the proposed time of 8 hrs of work for 9 months has no substantial backing or evidence to support it. It's entirely possible that this time period is not enough to convert someone who is not an all-rounder to someone who is. It could just as well become an additional burden to students who are already struggling in academics. In order to establish the validity of this duration, the author needs to provide evidence or cite a research study that claims the duration is sufficient to bring forth the intended results.

To conclude the author has failed to factor in a number of factors while also missing out on evidence to back their claims. They have used words like all-rounder vaguely and failed to convince me that this idea of compulsory charity for a fixed amount of time will benefit either the charity or the students.