The following appeared as part of a letter to the editor of a scientific journal.

"A recent study of eighteen rhesus monkeys provides clues as to the effects of birth order on an individual's levels of stimulation. The study showed that in stimulating situations (such as an encounter with an unfamiliar monkey), firstborn infant monkeys produce up to twice as much of the hormone cortisol, which primes the body for increased activity levels, as do their younger siblings. Firstborn humans also produce relatively high levels of cortisol in stimulating situations (such as the return of a parent after an absence). The study also found that during pregnancy, first-time mother monkeys had higher levels of cortisol than did those who had had several offspring."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The proposed explanation is about the a study conducted on rhesus monkeys. The study is trying to find correlation between birth order and individual's level of stimulation for humans species through studying rhesus monkeys. The are some alternative explanations that can be given to rival the proposed explanation.

It is mentioned that first borns of monkeys and humans show similarity in production of cortisol hormone. In stimulating situations, the amount of cortisol production is increased in both the infant monkeys and infant human. Thus, it can be conclued that there a similarity between rhesus monkeys and humans.

The study shows production of cortisols is almost double in firstborn then that for its younger siblings, in stimulating situations. The correlation between infant monkeys and humans is already extablished in above. So, taking this correlation into account it can be said that the when the infants of a human face stimulating stituations, the cortisol levels in first born is higher than its siblings.

The explanation states that during pregnancy, level of cortisol is higher in first-time mother monkeys than those who had several offspirngs before. So, it can be safely assumed that in humans too, during pregnany, the first-time mothers have higher levels of cortisols than that of other mothers that already have childern.

In summary, it can be said that there is a similarity between the rhesus monkeys and humans, and also there is a correlation between the order of birth and level of stimulations experienced by both the infants as well as the mother.