The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

“Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news

and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints

received from viewers were concerned with our station’s coverage of weather and local news.

In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just

canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the

program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time

devoted to weather and local news to its former level.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the

argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

According to that argument, the rating of late night news program has fallen because it does not devote more time to weather and local news. Before restoreing the time allocation to formal level, there are few evidences that need to be taken into consideration.

The argument does not mention exactly how much time was formally and now spend on weather and local news? If the time spend currently on the weather and local news is not much lessen that it formally was, then it should not affect the news content. Also, if the time devoted to national news has been increased, it might be because the national happenings are of more importance and impacting than the local news.

The complaints received from viewer were mostly regarding the coverage of weather and local news. But the time span time in which these complaints were received is not stated. Also, proportion of the number viewers that filed complaints to that of total viewers should be considered.

Cancellation of advertising contracts would not be neccessary have less time for weather and local news as their main reason. The end goal of the local business is to advertise so as to increase its sells. It does not care much about the program during which the advertises are played.

If we consider that the time devoted to weather and local news is restored to former level, it does not garrantee that the more viewers will be attracted towards the program. It would just mean lessening the number of complaints about time allocation from the viewers. Similarly, it also does not garanttee that the station will not lose anymore advertising revenues.

In conclusion, above mentioned evidences like total number of current and formal viewers, number of viewers that filed complaints, evidence that the main reason behind cancellation of advertising contracts will be needed to strengthen the argument.