The following appeared as part of a letter to the editor of a scientific journal.

"A recent study of eighteen rhesus monkeys provides clues as to the effects of birth order on an individual's levels of stimulation. The study showed that in stimulating situations (such as an encounter with an unfamiliar monkey), firstborn infant monkeys produce up to twice as much of the hormone cortisol, which primes the body for increased activity levels, as do their younger siblings. Firstborn humans also produce relatively high levels of cortisol in stimulating situations (such as the return of a parent after an absence). The study also found that during pregnancy, first-time mother monkeys had higher levels of cortisol than did those who had had several offspring."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

It Is stated in a scientific journal about the effects of birth order on eighteen rhesus monkeys .In this study, it is showed that by stimulating,first born monkeys have more hormone cortisol than their younger siblings. Human beings also show this type of tendency .However, before evaluating the argument some plausible explanations need to be defined whether the explanations on that study are reasonable or not .

First of all, the study was based on only about EIGHTEEN monkeys .And they have reached a decision in that journal with such a short amount of data .It might happen that other monkeys do not have increased cortisol levels like these monkeys .Or it might happen that only these selected monkey show the increased cortisol level which eventually enhance their activity level .Other infant monkeys might not produce that much hormone like rhesus monkeys .If all of these become true ,the editor’s argument is surely wear out .

Furthermore, these monkeys were studied in a stimulating system. It might happen when they are in the wild or in their own comfortable situations , they show other traits .Or it might also happen that the younger siblings have more energy levels than the first one .The study was based on encountering with an unfamiliar monkey ,but they do not study what will happen when they encounter with the similar one .in that case they might show some other traits than this time .In this case ,the study in that scientific journal is considerably flawed and do not hold water .

Moreover ,just because first born ‘humans’ produce high levels of cortisol in stimulating situations does not indicate the monkeys will behave the same. It might happen that the monkeys cortisol level were increased due to numerous other factors. The factors might be physical, psychological or environmental for which the monkeys produce higher amount of cortisol than their younger ones as well the pregnant ones .Only because that mother monkeys and human also have the higher cortisol levels does not indicate it will be the same for all others monkeys too. If this is the case ,then the study is seriously undermined .

In conclusion ,the argument where it stands now is considerably weakened due to unwarranted assumptions and that need some proper justifications .If the editor of that journal can explain all of these assumptions and show proper reasoning, the study might give a shot in animals and science fields in the near future .