The following appeared as a recommendation by a committee planning a ten-year budget for the city of Calatrava.

"The birthrate in our city is declining: in fact, last year's birthrate was only one-half that of five years ago. Thus the number of students enrolled in our public schools will soon decrease dramatically, and we can safely reduce the funds budgeted for education during the next decade. At the same time, we can reduce funding for athletic playing fields and other recreational facilities. As a result, we will have sufficient money to fund city facilities and programs used primarily by adults, since we can expect the adult population of the city to increase."

Write a response discussing what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

A recommendation by the concomitant responsible for planning ten years budget of the city of Calatrava stated that the birth rate of the city has plummeted. It also highlighted that the birth rate of the previous year was only one half that of five years ago. Based on the above evidence author recommends the reduction of expenses related to education and the athletic field's activities. Careful scrutiny reveals that the arguments give no credible support to the conclusion drawn by the author. Hence the argument is incomplete. The following essay represents the set of vague pieces of evidence resulting in a weak argument.

To begin with, the author continuously assumes that the birth rate will continue to decline. For example, a country named Mexico once faced significant dangers due to the excessive rise in their population. Beurocrats of the country were concerned about the lack of resources. Hence new policies were made to lower down the birth rate. Apparently, it worked more than the required amount. Not only because of policies but also due to changes in culture. People started believing in small families. Consequently, the country is now facing a lack of labour growth due to an extremely low birth rate. This example demonstrates that no quick decisions should be based on such situations.

Secondly, the author suggests reducing funds for the athletic field activity without scrutinizing its effects on present athletes. The actual funds allotted to athletics are used by professional people. If these funds are reduced, then the representation of the city in interstate or intercity programs will also decrease. For instance, many cities get a lot of their revenue from tourism, which can be promoted by such athletics events. If the city decides to cut the funds, it may also affect the revenue generated. If the above statement has merit then the argument is significantly weakened.

Furthermore, the author assumes that reducing the funds from the educational system will not imply any negative effects. Here, the author does not evaluate the fact that lack of funds may deteriorate the quality of education. This will indirectly affect city growth. For instance, the students coming out of school are not able to qualify for any entrance exams. Perhaps this will affect the employability of the city. It may end up making many students unemployed. If the above statement holds true that the argument does not hold water

In conclusion, the argument appears to be flawed due to its reliance on a number of unwarranted pieces of evidence. The author requires to provide more analytical surveys and cogent proofs, to make his recommendation viable. Further evaluation of the argument could be done once convincing empirical pieces of evidence are presented.