The following appeared as a recommendation by a committee planning a ten-year budget for the city of Calatrava.

"The birthrate in our city is declining: in fact, last year's birthrate was only one-half that of five years ago. Thus the number of students enrolled in our public schools will soon decrease dramatically, and we can safely reduce the funds budgeted for education during the next decade. At the same time, we can reduce funding for athletic playing fields and other recreational facilities. As a result, we will have sufficient money to fund city facilities and programs used primarily by adults, since we can expect the adult population of the city to increase."

The author in the recommendation claims to reduce funding amount for education during the next decade because the birthrate of the last year was one-half that of five years ago, and to buttress this statement, the author assumes that the students enrolled in the public schools will soon decrease dramatically. Moreover, the author tends to cut short the funds for athletic playing fields and other recreational facilities. Instead, the author claims to raise the fund for city facilities and programs used by adults, as the author thinks that the city's adult population will increase. However, while the conclusion drawn by the author might hold water, it rests on several unfounded assumptions that, if not substantiated, dramatically attenuates the persuasiveness of the argument. Therefore, the following points need attention.

Firstly, the author compares the birthrate of the last year with the birthrate of 5 years ago. This comparison does not stand on many solid grounds. The author might not have taken into consideration the overall population at both years. It might be possible that some 'X amount has increased the overall population of the city of Calatrava. For instance, if the city's population five years ago was 1 million, the city's current population might be 5 million. Thus, the increase in the population would have a significant impact on the budget, yet the birthrate is less than the previous years.

Secondly, the author has made an unfounded assumption that the enrolled students in public schools will decline. However, there are not any pieces of evidence by the author that will substantiate the above assumptions. If the author provided statistical data, it would be plausible for the readers and more convincing.

Furthermore, there might be a possibility that the people living in Calatrava may not be satisfied with the current budget plan, and it would be assiduous for the middle-class families to survive in the situation. As a result, it will not be feasible for the families to bear a child due to the increased cost of living.

A careful analysis exposes the loopholes present in the argument by the author. Consequently, the recommendation by the committee does not seem to be strong enough to corroborate the conclusion because all the reasons are dubious. Hence, the committee must rethink and should provide a logical and foolproof solution.