The following is a memorandum from the office of Mayor Harrison Smith Jones.

"In order to relieve Briggsville’s notorious traffic congestion, Mayor Harrison Smith Jones plans to build a multi-million dollar subway system. The subway will run through the major downtown areas, a part of the town where buses serve as the only form of public transportation. For years, residents have been complaining both about inconsistent buses, and the general lack of safety while riding the buses. Additionally, the subway will be running twenty-four hours a day. Since motorists will spend less time in traffic, Mayor Harrison Smith Jones expects to see an immediate increase in worker productivity, which will improve the economy of Briggsville."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument put for in the memorandum from the office of mayor seems to assume certain trends and effects that will result from the construction of subway service which can easily but put into question that needs to be rectified to go ahead with such a memorandum. At times the situation as accessed in the memorandum like this may prove to be another way around in practice.

In order to relieve Bridgeville's traffic congestion, the solution of construction the subway service may actually be not needed despite investing a large sum of money which can be somewhere else utilized in order to improve the economy of the city. As the congestion in traffic may also be due to the infrastructure constructions projects taking place in the city or due to mismanagement of canals and other public waterworks aspects which can lead to blockage of certain areas in the city. Moreover, it may be due to the bad quality of the road which often leads to congestions. So the problem of traffic congestion cannot be assessed by a single factor alone which if corrected may also prove to increase the economy.

As busses being the only form of public transport as reported by the residents doesn't prove that another form of public transport is required although the busses are inconsistent as reported by residents which may not be completely correct as the complaints may be from certain remote parts of the city which don't necessarily give the true picture of the availability of the public transport in the city . Moreover, it can also be possible that an increase in the number of busses in the central parts of the city leads to frequent congestion of traffic. The bus service may not be inconsistent in certain areas and may actually be inconsistent in other areas.

The running period of the subway does not guarantee the usage of this service as it may happen that people living in the city prefer their own vehicle over such a subway service. This claim often tells nothing about the usability of the service which is quite vague in its context that needs to be addressed first.in the argument, as put forth by the mayor that people spend less time in the traffic assumes that the workers involved in the development of the city are traveling from the congestion prone area of the city for which no quantitative proof has been presented in the memorandum.

So in an attempt to conclude this argument, I would consider this memorandum to be flawed in many aspects and needs to be redressed before it goes into action along with the incorporation of certain quantitative measures so as to justify the relevant course of action