The following appears in a letter to the editor for the West Lansburg News:

"The tufted groundhog lives in the coastal wetlands of West Lansburg. Ancient records suggest that the tufted groundhog once numbered in the millions. Since they were declared a wildlife sanctuary in 2004, development along the coastal wetlands has been prohibited. Now local development interests are lobbying for the West Lansburg council to allow an access road to be built along the edge of wetlands. Neighboring Eastern Carpenteria, which had a similar sanctuary, has seen its sea otter population decline since the repeal of its sanctuary status in 1978. In order to preserve the region's biodiversity and ensure a healthy environment, the West Lansburg council should not allow the road to be built."

The author of the passage states that, in order to preserve the sanctity of the environment and protect the region's biodiversity, a road should not be allowed to be built on the costal wetlands of West Lanburg. The author draws this conclusion based on facts like comparison to the population of sea otters, the effects of the repeal on the neighboring land, and effects observed on the biodiversity in Eastern Carpentia. But before this argument can be evaluated, three questions must be answered.

First, how is the population of sea otters and tufted groundhogs comparable? A decrease in number of sea otters from 1978 can be caused due to other reasons. Perhaps there was a fatal disease going around the sea otter community which led to a massive decrease in the population. It could also be the case that a new predator of the sea otter entered the sanctuary and wreaked havoc on the population. If either of the two scenarios was true, the argument is significantly weakened.

Second, is a repeal in sanctuary status similar to building a road along the edge? These two are very different circumstances. The author states that the sanctuary status of East Carpentia was repealed. A repeal in sanctuary status can imply less regulations by the government in that area, and perhaps the illegal poaching of sea otters markedly increased during this time. Additionally, it is possible that since the sanctuary's status has been repealed, the population of the sea otters was not scrutinized and the sea otters might have migrated to other area. If this turns out to be the case, the conclusion does not hold merit.

Third, how are the sanctuaries of the land of East Carpentia and West Lanburg comparable? East Carpentia had the sanctuary in 1978 and the current sanctuary in West Lanburg could be drastically different from former mentioned sanctuary. Maybe West Lanburg has better trained employees who take care of the tufted groundhogs compared to East Carpentia. There may have been remarkable advances in the field of veterinary sciences which could provide better practices of taking care of wild animals and West Lanburg's sanctuary has diligently applied these strategies. If the above is true, the argument does not hold water.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stand now, is significantly flawed due to its reliance on the above stated unwarranted assumptions. If the author can provide more information (perhaps in the form of a systematic research study), it is possible to properly, and fully, evaluate the validity of the argument.