The following is an excerpt from a speech given to the School Board about a change to the curriculum:

"Because the future will be dominated by technology, we must make four years of computer programming mandatory for all high school students. If our students take these classes, they’ll all be able to get high-paying programming jobs and lead fulfilling lives because software engineers and data scientists have the best job prospects and salaries. Therefore, we must educate our students so they can secure these kinds of jobs. Even if they pursue other careers, programming will still benefit them, given that all industries are becoming more technological."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument made by the prompt suffers from many unwarranted assumptions, which if not addressed could lead to having an oppsite result, then what is stated in argument.

The prompt make an assumption that the mandatory requirement of programming classes would benefit the students universallly, which can very well be false. This requirement would add additinal budden on those students who don't even want to pursue a career in programming. Moreover it is highly plausible that this additional load would have a negative effect on the students i.e lowering their grades. This would lower their career prospects, the very thing the requirement was meant to improve.

Th prompt makes a false assumption that all the programming jobs lead to a happy life and have the best job prospects and salaries. It can very well be the case that the best salaries are offered to select few students while the majority are stuck with mediocre salaries. Also many students may not enjoy their work as every student has his/her own defination of happinesss. A student predesposed to the humanities will have his or her career prospects diminised, the very opposite the prompt posits, if such requirements are made mandotory.

The prompt make a glaring fallacy that all industries will be requiring programming background - would require programming skills - in the future. It is a gross generalization across all the industries. Some industries can very well remain unaffected by the growing technological advances. For a student who wants to be a lawyer, a background in programming will be worthless. A student who aspires to be an artist has no use of knowing how compilers compile code, or how a program in c++ is executed.

In conclution, the aurgument present by the prompt is missing information about many keys aspects in making a desicion which could have long lasting effect on students. Hence, only after rectifing the mentioned point and filling the gaps in information, the school board should make a decision.