The following is an excerpt from a speech given to the School Board about a change to the curriculum:

"Because the future will be dominated by technology, we must make four years of computer programming mandatory for all high school students. If our students take these classes, they’ll all be able to get high-paying programming jobs and lead fulfilling lives because software engineers and data scientists have the best job prospects and salaries. Therefore, we must educate our students so they can secure these kinds of jobs. Even if they pursue other careers, programming will still benefit them, given that all industries are becoming more technological."

Today's world is rapidly evolving as we made technological leaps that were unimaginable just 10 years ago. Computers and phones have become an essential part of our lives not just for leisure but for most useful work as well. There the school board's decision to change the curriculum and include mandatory computer classes is a well thought one.

Even though people say that money will not give you happiness, the entire world is in a rat race to earn more money and give their families a better life even if it means compromising on one's own happiness. As the author states software engineers and data scientists have not only the best job prospects but also the most salaries. It's one of the most sought-after jobs and yet there is no formal path for how to learn computer programming. In such a scenario from a young age itself, most kids have started coding on their own. However, they mostly give up due to a lack of a clear path due to schools not offering any courses in computers or programming. The school's decision might just start a trend where students can be guided more thoroughly as to what they must do to become adept in computer programming.

People tend to say that computer programming helps only a limited section of society but I beg to differ. Coding and programming as become an invaluable part of almost every high-paying job today. Right from a computer scientist trying to design a self-driving car to a mechanical engineer building models in CAD designs. Right from doctors using machine learning to understand the various effects of experimental drugs both short-term and long term to a business analyst predicting the trends of the stock market, the uses are infinite. All industries are rapidly evolving and they are expecting most of their employees to be good with technology as well as programming. Having developed these skills in high school itself, even people who aren’t rich or bright enough to go to college will be able to land a decent job and earn at least some basic amount of money.

Further, the decision to make it mandatory is important as usually, the first few weeks of programming are often the hardest. One must get familiar with not only the environment and syntax of programs even before getting into the programming part. One must learn how to think like a coder and also how different codes and programs are run on different machines. This however is quite boring and intimidating. Students will often drop out seeing all this. However, by making this compulsory the students will have no choice but to show persistence and break through these barriers, and more often than not these are the people who end up becoming the best of coders.

Looking at the above arguments, I am convinced that the school board's decision has been made after much deliberation and is completely in the interests of the students. As such the skill of handling computers and knowing basic coding is of paramount importance in today's day and world.