The following is an excerpt from a speech given to the School Board about a change to the curriculum Because the future will be dominated by technology we must make four years of computer programming mandatory for all high school students If our students

The speech suggests that the cirriculum should prioritize computer programming because high-paying programming jobs will be in abundance in the future and will lead to a fulfilling life. The evidence presented is the future will be dominated by technology, software engineers and data scientists have the best job prospects and salaries, and programming will still benefit students who pursue other careers. I will discuss the flaws within this argument, discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument, and explain how the evidence would strenghen or weaken the argument.

To begin with, the first assumption made is that the future will be dominated by technology and this weakens the argument. While technology is on the rise and improving daily, we don't have any specific evidence to determine if this is true. Since Artificial Intelligence(A.I.) is developing quickly, many people will enter jobs that cannot be replaced by A.I. in the near future. Although computer programming jobs are high-paying at the moment, we don't know what the future holds for these types of professions.

In addition, the argument is further weakened with the second assumption made that software engineers and data scientists have the best job prospects and salaries. While these careers do offer lucrative pay, there are many other careers in the medical field that have even better job prospects and salaries. Also, If A.I. continues to advance, jobs in software engineering and data analysts may cease to exist. A.I. is already capable of performing all of the math required to perform the neccessary job tasks.

Furthermore, the author states that the students will be able to get high paying jobs and 'lead fulfilling lives'. To say that it will lead to a fulfilling life is a vague statement and more specific evidence is needed. Just because someone has a job that pays well doesn't mean that they are passionate about it. Take for instance a software engineer that makes six figures, yet hates the job. This is important because making lots of money doesn't equate to happiness.

In conclusion, there are many holes in this argument and in order to strengthen it, we need more specific examples. If the author could explain how the future will be dominated by technology and how these jobs are fulfilling it would strengthen the argument.