The following appeared as part of the Dean’s newsletter:

"The University of Wabash is considering a community service requirement for all undergraduate and graduate students. We believe that the objective of any university is to produce well-rounded and charitable members of society. The proposed graduation requirement would be to complete at least 8 hours of unpaid community service per month for a total of 9 months. The Dean’s office will maintain a list of approved local charities on its website with contact information. This is a fantastic opportunity for students to give back to the community and gain real-world working experience. Most importantly, local charities in need will receive the help that they need to continue their efforts."

While the proposal proposed by the university is a veritable one, making broad decisions based on ideals is rash at best. The decision to introduce new graduation requirements is highly nuanced and should be given a thorough consideration. The intention to do good should not result in bad outcomes.

Would it be prudent to mandate the community service as a graduation requirement for all students wheather they are undergraduate or graduate students? Students belonging to either category could have different work and time commitments for their respective category. While undergraduate students are enrolled in a typical 4 year program, the graduate programs are typically of 2 years long. The level of detail increases in graduate programs compared to undergraduate ones, commensurately increasing the work load. The administration should take note of these differences and should conduct a survey wheather these requirements add any further brudern on students. Using these surveys they can have a lucid picture on which category should these requirements be made mandetory.

The admistration should also be cognizant of the fact that adding these requirements could potentially increase the duration required to graduate. This could pose as a problem for students who cannot afford another semester due to financial constraints. The administration should take these facts into its nouse, so that no extra financial burden is forced onto the students. The administration could take help of an anonymous survey to better understand the financial situation of the students and act accordingly.

Foremost the charaties should be survey wheather they are in need of help, and wheather they are able to eqiup the students for the task required to be performed. It can very well be the case that the fledgeling students would need a thorough trainig to be able to help the said charaties. Without this knowledge the charaties would be encumbured with ineffciencies as they would have to teach the students by themselves.

The university should take some more time to finalize the requiremts as there could be many unexplored side effects. Only after all the kinks are cleared should the university proceed with the proposal.