The following is an excerpt from a speech given to the School Board about a change to the curriculum:

"Because the future will be dominated by technology, we must make four years of computer programming mandatory for all high school students. If our students take these classes, they’ll all be able to get high-paying programming jobs and lead fulfilling lives because software engineers and data scientists have the best job prospects and salaries. Therefore, we must educate our students so they can secure these kinds of jobs. Even if they pursue other careers, programming will still benefit them, given that all industries are becoming more technological."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The advent of technology has unarguably revolutionized the world with tremendous potential to create more impacts in the coming years in all ramifications. It is crucial for all individuals to have a good usage of technological advances but not necessarily the mechanisms of developments. The author belief on making computer programming mandatory for high school students is rife and unfounded with lots of generalizations.

To start with, the author assumed that only computer programmers would have a good use of technological advancements is incorrect. Truthfully, computer may have an edge in understanding the backend mechanisms but may lack the understanding the user interface. A typical example is CAD-RC which is an AutoCAD plug-in software for the steel or reinforcement detailing of structurally designed structures. It is no gainsaying that a computer programmer that does not have an understanding of the Civil Engineering symbols coupled with the software interface would be find wanting in the software usage. Although, the software was developed through programming but enormous data was provided by Civil Engineers in achieving such feats.

The writer clearly clearly stated that software engineers and data scientists have the best job prospects. This is vague with no evidence to back up this claim. In Nigeria, the total monthly allowance of Senators is approximately one-hundred thousand dollars. A large chunk of this elected politicians does not have any programming knowledge, even some does not have a degree. Only a negligible amount of programmers in the world have a monthly take home of over one-hundred thousand dollars. Politics is just an example, there are other fields that have more paying prospects than software engineers and data scientists.

From the last example, the author assumed data scientists have the best paying prospects alongside software engineers. It is true that that software engineers need profound understanding of programming which is not necessary for data scientists. It is therefore contradictory for the author to place the possibility of being the students being a future data scientists on computer programming.

The author also assumed that the only criteria in getting a good paying job as a software engineer or data scientist is based on computer programming alone. With the ever rising competition in the world, potential employees are expected to posses varieties of skills beyond technical skills to rise above the competitions. Leadership skills, communication skills, interpersonal skills are major examples.

The significant of programming in technology cannot be overemphasized but the author assumptions as the need to mandate computer programming course for four years are illogical and unfounded.