Undergraduate students majoring in Business or in the Sciences should not be required to take any courses in the Humanities since those courses won’t benefit their future careers.

It is no gainsaying that the primary purpose of higher academic institutions is to ensure a proper understanding of any individual's course of study which is germane to building a career in the same field. Profoundly, the apothegm "prove worthy academically and in character" is commonly recited during convocations to delineate that grandaunts have not only be academically groomed but also trained to be individuals of high moral standards in the society. A statement which believes students in the sciences and business should not be required to take any courses in the Humanities is incongruous to the mantra of the universities which is "Unity in Diversification".

Interestingly, all academic field including the sciences and businesses were developed from languages and philosophy. The ideologies promoted in the sciences and businesses were based on individual's reasonings, discoveries and are all communicated through languages -all of which are enmeshed in the humanities. A typical example is the famous "Newton Laws of Motion" which was written in the Mathematics Book of Philosophy by Sir Isaac Newton himself, therefore corroborating the influence of humanities in advancing scientific objectives.

Another prominent example could be linked to the advent of technology which is a major scientific aspect. It is however pertinent to note that technology advancements such as mobile and desktop applications have been greatly utilized in the field of Humanities. Noting that the writing of algorithms is dependent on programming and data from the desired field which could be Humanities which shows the need for programmers to be verse in different aspects to foster smooth communication among the data providers and developers.

Additionally, the preservation of knowledge in both the Sciences and Businesses are dependent on documented or written theories, principles and laws. Unarguably, the fundamental tenet of writing is proper use of the desired languages. Imagine scrapping the mandated two credits course titled "the use of English" in Nigerian Universities. It would be aberrant since all communications are officially made in English. Not forgetting that some students have a separate flair for writing apart from their desired course of study. It should also be noted that some students might be forced to go into sciences or businesses whilst they have potential for the humanities.

We desire a world where everyone lives in peace and shared prosperity and the University plays a major role in achieving that. Diversification is not an option.