The following is a letter to the editor of an environmental magazine.

"In 1975 a wildlife census found that there were seven species of amphibians in Xanadu National Park, with abundant numbers of each species. However, in 2002 only four species of amphibians were observed in the park, and the numbers of each species were drastically reduced. There has been a substantial decline in the numbers of amphibians worldwide, and global pollution of water and air is clearly implicated. The decline of amphibians in Xanadu National Park, however, almost certainly has a different cause: in 1975, trout-which are known to eat amphibian eggs-were introduced into the park."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The editorial attribute the dropping number of extant amphibians and shrinking numbers in existing species of amphibians to the newly introduced trout, which feed on their eggs. However, more evidence are required on at least three questions regarding amphibians to assert such claim is sound.

Firsly and most importantly, will there be any other threaten to the survive of amphibians other than trout? Besides the air and water pollution mentioned in the statement, the climate change can also be a possible cause, as it caused the extinctions of many other species already. The author managed to claima causation, which still has other feasible explanations. If the evidence shows that the climate change also exacervate the living condition of amphibians, then it would weak the conclusion by the editorial,

Additionally, wether the attribution is tenable still require more evidence about the trout. If the trout only eat eggs of one specific amphibian instead all kinds of them, then the assertion would be fallacious since all species of amphibians are affected. Even though that trouts eat eggs from all amphibians, there are still doubts casted on how large is the trouts' appetite. Unless it is proved that they are gluttons and eat so many eggs that would influence of amphibians, the results are unsound as diminutive amout loss on their eggs will not have such strong impact on their proliferation.

In the end, there are still wanting evidence on the trout, because the editorial's statement assumed that they propagated well so that their existance is influential to the survival of amphibians. The logic behind is that there could also have predators for touts so that it extincted soon after its introduction, and such evidence would mightly discredit the validity of the statement,

In summary, there are many altervatives, that could explain the decreasing trend of amphibians, are also reasonable. Therefore, it would be too facile to make such attribution and a more salient approach is to glean further evidence on above three aspects.