The following is a letter to the editor of the Waymarsh Times.

"Traffic here in Waymarsh is becoming a problem. Although just three years ago a state traffic survey showed that the typical driving commuter took 20 minutes to get to work, the commute now takes closer to 40 minutes, according to the survey just completed. Members of the town council already have suggested more road building to address the problem, but as well as being expensive, the new construction will surely disrupt some of our residential neighborhoods. It would be better to follow the example of the nearby city of Garville. Last year Garville implemented a policy that rewards people who share rides to work, giving them coupons for free gas. Pollution levels in Garville have dropped since the policy was implemented, and people from Garville tell me that commuting times have fallen considerably. There is no reason why a policy like Garville's shouldn't work equally well in Waymarsh."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author claims that the commute time in Waymarsh has increased and the plan to build more roads is quite expensive and would disrupt the residential neighborhoods. Moreover, the author suggests that pool rides that were able to mitigate the problem of congestion in Garvelli would be a better alternative for Waymarsh. To evaluate the effectiveness of the recommendation by the author, we would require further evicence which will be discussed in the following paragraphs.

First, the author claims that the commute time to work has increased to 40 mins as opposed to 20 mins ealier based on a survey. The claim, however, stands unsubstantiated as the author does not give any specific details of the survey. Is the sample choosen for the survey a representative sample of the population? Was the survey conducted in the same manner as it was conducted three years ago? The answers to these questions would help us verify if the claim made by the author is actually true. One would also need information about the size of the sample choosen for the survey to validate the findings from the survey. Without the knowledge of the procedure used in the survey, we cannot ascertain the findings of the survey.

Second, the author arugues that the construction of new roads would disturb the sembalance of the residential neighborhoods. The author fallaciously assumes that the construction inherently involves large machinery, huge man power, air and noise pollution. It could very well be the case that advanced construction methods like precast construction and use of modern machinery that precludes large man power could be used to make construction less expensive and less disruptive. The evidence regarding the methods of construction would be pivotal in discriminating if the author's argument stands valid.

Finally, the author assumes that what worked in Garvelli would also work in Waymarsh. However, this assumption is not corraborated with any evidence of similarity in socio-economic characteristics of Waymarsh and Garvelli. If there is difference in the socio-economic of status of the both the places, then the author's recommendaton would prove to be futile.

As we can see, the author's argument, as it stands, seems to be a facial for the reasons like - details of the survey are not mentioned, no information about the methods construction are pur forth and similarites in the socio-economic traits of the both places are not discussed.