The following is a letter to the editor of the Waymarsh Times.

"Traffic here in Waymarsh is becoming a problem. Although just three years ago a state traffic survey showed that the typical driving commuter took 20 minutes to get to work, the commute now takes closer to 40 minutes, according to the survey just completed. Members of the town council already have suggested more road building to address the problem, but as well as being expensive, the new construction will surely disrupt some of our residential neighborhoods. It would be better to follow the example of the nearby city of Garville. Last year Garville implemented a policy that rewards people who share rides to work, giving them coupons for free gas. Pollution levels in Garville have dropped since the policy was implemented, and people from Garville tell me that commuting times have fallen considerably. There is no reason why a policy like Garville's shouldn't work equally well in Waymarsh."

The author claims here that in Waymarsh there is an issue with traffic and driving commuters now take twenty more minutes than it took three years ago. And the author suggests that instead of building new roads they need to accept the same strategy as their neighboring city, rewarding people with free gas coupons who share rides to work. Stated this way, the argument is rife with holes and assumptions, and thus, is not complete and substantiated.

First, the author cites that the town council already suggested solving the problem by building more roads. However, the construction is expensive and will perturb some of the residential neighborhoods. Therefore, they need to implement the same strategy as Garville which has shown that the pollution has dropped in Garville. This is merely an assumption made without much solid ground. For example, the author assumes that because of that policy the pollution dropped, but did not provide any convincing evidence about what exactly caused that. What if the city’s council took other action that reduced pollution there? It would be more persuasive if the author provided more information about the pollution relation with the implemented policy.

Additionally, the author mentions that people in Garville told him that their driving commute decreased significantly. This point does not show any clear correlation between implemented policy and the driving time drop. The author did not state the number of people who had stated about the driving time decrease. What if they make up only a small percent of the population in Garville? Do these people live in the areas where traffic is loaded? It would be more convincing if the author gave the answer to these questions.

Finally, the author states that the same policy will work in Waymash, but does not give evidence of their similarities. To make his statement more reliable the author should mention whether these cities have the same population or not? Their geographical position and government policies are close to each other or not? Without reasonable responses to these questions, the reader is left with the feeling that it is the author’s wishful thinking rather than concrete evidence.

In conclusion, the author’s recommendation is unpersuasive in its current form. To bolster it further the author needs to provide a more detailed analysis about the pollution and driving time decrease in Garville. Moreover, he should provide details about the similarities of these both cities.