"Traffic here in Waymarsh is becoming a problem. Although just three years ago a state traffic survey showed that the typical driving commuter took 20 minutes to get to work, the commute now takes closer to 40 minutes, according to the survey just completed. Members of the town council already have suggested more road building to address the problem, but as well as being expensive, the new construction will surely disrupt some of our residential neighborhoods. It would be better to follow the example of the nearby city of Garville. Last year Garville implemented a policy that rewards people who share rides to work, giving them coupons for free gas. Pollution levels in Garville have dropped since the policy was implemented, and people from Garville tell me that commuting times have fallen considerably. There is no reason why a policy like Garville's shouldn't work equally well in Waymarsh."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The conclusion that was stated by the author says that Waymarsh could solve the problem of delayed commuting time by simply adopting the Garville’s policy as the initial suggestions by the members of the town council seems to be ineffective and in turn could turn out to be a whole new problem. However, this conclusion might not hold water due to three unwarranted assumptions made by the author.

First of all, is the survey that was taken to show the average commute time based on scientific research? Does it consider multiple distinctive factors that might be different three ago? Perhaps people’s job might’ve changed to a different location which requires them to travel longer. It is possible that the condition of the roads were in much better shape three years ago and since then they’ve been deteriorating which could cause a delay in travelling. If any of the above examples turn out to be true, then the author’s assumption holds no water.

Second of all, is the professional population that commute in Garville same as Waymarsh? The policy has a rewarding system,where people are rewarded when they share a cab to work. Perhaps the working population of Waymarsh is superior where its city council can’t afford to reward every single individual a free gas coupons. It is possible that Waymarsh is comparatively a poor city with less resources,hence, making it impossible to implement any kind of rewarding system.If any of the above examples hold value,then author’s conclusion will be considerably weakened.

Finally, even if author’ unwarranted assumptions are true, will everyone feel comfortable or be content with sharing a cab with others? It is possible that every individual has a different route to take, so sharing a cab would rather increase their commute time. Perhaps the pollution caused was not entirely due to longer commute time but rather due to various activities. The above examples could make author’s conclusion unpersuasive.

In conclusion, due to the lack of any significant evidence such as scientific research on pollution and quality of roads over time, the unwarranted assumption made by author aren’t persuasive and are weak.