The following is a letter from the parent of a private school student to the principal of that school:

Last year, Kensington Academy turned over management of its cafeteria to a private vendor, Swift Nutrition. This company serves low-fat, low-calorie meals that students do not find enjoyable – my son and several of his friends came home yesterday complaining about the lunch options. While the intent of hiring Swift may have been to cause students to eat healthier foods, the plan is just going to cause students to bring their own, less healthy lunches instead of eating cafeteria food. If Swift is not replaced with another vendor, there will be serious health consequences for Kensington students.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The parent of the student at Kensington Academy is concerned that the recent change in cafeteria vendor to Swift Nutrition, has caused her child and some other students to complain about the lunch options. He recognizes that the decision to bring in this food vendor was to ensure that kids are eating nutritious food but it seems to have backfired. They argue that in order to avoid eating at the cafeteria, these kids opt to bring their own food and that might be an unhealthy option. They posit that if the vendor isn't changed it could lead to serious health consequences. While this a serious accusation, the school authorities need to investigate the underlying assumptions here and get answers to vital questions before making a decision.

Firstly, we need to understand how many students are not liking the food options provided by Swift Nutrition. What tends to often happen with school kids is that they develop herd mentality within their social groups. In order to not against the dominant kids, the more submissive ones might just play along with an opinion that was offered to them. The school authorities need to conduct surveys to understand the percentage of kids who are genuinely unhappy with the cafeteria service.

Secondly, the school needs to investigate if the options provided by Swift Nutrition is actually restricted. What food vendors at cafeterias often do is provide a revolving menu that changes on a weekly basis. This way, students are excited to find out what what new items the cafeteria might have to offer at the start of the week. Additionally, vendors also mix up the menu to provide a mix of maincourse and deserts because deserts might be more favourable to most students. Now if Swift Nutrition isn't taking the effort to recreate their menu on a regular basis, then replacing them would make sense.

Lastly, we need to understand if budget is a concern while choosing Swift Nutrition. In today's day and age, the emphasis on eating healthy is massive. But innovative use of ingredients can end up creating dishes that are not a compromise on the pallet. Items such a faux-meat now exist in the market. They taste exactly like traditional meat, but are made solely out of plant based ingredients. Such measures, though available are considerably more expensive than traditional options of healthy food. If this is the case, and the school finds that Swift Nutrition is best available vendor that can maintain some balance between nutritious and tasty meals, then firing them would make no sense.

The option of eating tasty food appeals to one and all. While at the same time it has become increasingly important for children to understand the importance of eating healthy. Even while sacrificing taste sometimes. This will benefit them in the long run. Therefore with this as a priority and taking into consideration the above-mentioned enquiries, the school can arrive at a reasonable decision about the cafeteria vendor.