Company management should conduct routine monitoring of all employee e-mail correspondence. Such monitoring will reduce the waste of resources such as time and system capacity, as well as protect the company from lawsuits.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

We're living in world where one cannot be too careful. Especially with the work undertaken by large companies, all the information that they are privy too needs to be protected. Unwarranted exposure of this information can lead to dire consequences such as lawsuits, plummeting of share value, etc. The prompt suggests that companies should conduct routine monitoring of all employee e-mail correspondence in order to avoid the above-mentioned situations. In my opinion, I strongly agree with this policy recommendation that surveillance of employee e-mails is a necessary safeguard to ensure to smooth functioning of an enterprise for the two reasons.

To begin with, employees working at these companies have access to a lot of sensitive information. Information which is crucial to their clients and may hold high monetary value. Thereby, these clients sign non-disclosure agreements with companies to make sure their data is secure. In an increasingly competitive world, your rival company will stop at nothing to secure an advantage in the market. For instance, while working at a law firm, as an employee you have insider information to a disputed land deal. There is case going on in court and the opposing counsel approaches a co-worker to provide this information so he can exploit it to have an upper hand in court. These things often happen because a lot of money can be offered to this co-worker and personally he may not have much at stake even if his firm loses the case. When the client realizes that underhanded means were used to access his information and someone in the firm leaked this data, he can proceed to sue the firm for a lot of money. To avoid, these situations it is necessary for the company to monitor e-mail correspondence of their employees and even put in place advanced machine learning systems in place to detect fraudulent behaviour.

In addition to this, e-mail storage if not managed efficiently can cause the company to spend too much money and resources to acquire additional server capacity. Employees can sometimes be wasteful in the way that they manage their e-mail accounts. For instance, there are a lot of temporary services one can avail to send large attachments without sacrificing on your storage capacity. One can use a service called we-transfer to send files upto two gigabytes. Using this instead of attaching files via google drive can save you on storage space. After employee orientation training, some might still absent mindedly use archaic methods of file transfer while going through their day to day work. When there are multiple employees working with the same carelessness, the company suffers because they need to constantly upgrade their storage which is an expensive endeavour. Therefore, it is beneficial to the company to instead monitor e-mail correspondence and notify the employee when they are not being efficient with their use of system capacity. An overloaded storage often slows down the ability of systems to operate efficiently.

One might bring up the issue of privacy being violated because of this monitoring of correspondence. However, don't companies provide employees with separate e-mail ids to be used during office hours and official correspondence? Also, employees that are aware that their e-mail are being monitored will be more diligent during their workday so as to not waste time during working hours. For these reasons, I strongly believe that monitoring of e-mail correspondence benefits the company in the long run.